What program do you use?

Discussion in 'Production' started by Nomme, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. Nomme

    Nomme Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    I've been using fruity loops for ages now, for about a year, but everyone says that there are better programmes out there. I tried cubase, but I didn't like it. So what else is out there? Whats the best programme for DnB?
     
  2. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Just go with what you like. If you dont like Cubase, dont use it. It's really hard to define what a 'better' program is, since the differences are mostly cosmetic these days. For me a good program is one that enables you to quickly make your ideas into reality, and ATM that's fruity. What was that about cubase you didn't like?

    Other DAW's include Ableton Live (version 8 is the current one...?), SONAR, plus a few other all-in-one solutions like FL.
     
  3. Sammy Dexcell

    Sammy Dexcell Stop editing my profile Smarty!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    115
    Location:
    A place where the flowers grow
    ^^^^^this!!! definetly!

    but if you want to experiment to find wat u like try out reason4 or logic pro (for mac only), but as he said its all about wat u personally feel comfortable with.
     
  4. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Like everyone else says, theres not one program thats "better" than any others, it just depends what your used to. I use reason for soft synths/samplers, and Rewire it to Pro Tools for mixing and adding audio etc. Just have a good look around, try a few other peoples setups maybe. If your happy with what you have and the results your getting then dont feel the need to change it because people say theres better around, its all about what your happy with using.
     
  5. Areor

    Areor New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fruity in my opinion isn't good because it makes quite "electronic" sounds "by default". I dunno how to explain that, when I try to make something using only fruity's VST's and samples, beats sound very simple, no matter how I try to add or change something, it just doesn't sound good.
    But, FL is great choise, if u use other VST's with it and also different samples.

    However, it is possible imo to achieve great sound using only FL's vst's, but then you need to spend a lot of time with FX and experiment, it's just simpler to get VST's, who make already good sound.

    I'm using FL and I've tried many other DAW's, but I think I'll stick with FL, it has great and simple interface. FL + NI Komplete 5 and some other VST's is really all what u need imo, mby AKAI MPK49 also wouldn't hurt to buy. :)
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2009
  6. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,438
    Likes Received:
    563
    Location:
    Feltham
    I mainly use logic but i use fl studio or drum sequencing sometimes and various other bits then bounce it to wav
     
  7. vickvega

    vickvega Mr. Blonde

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    badlands of nc.
    reason4 & abelton 7 is wot im using atm
     
  8. Dave Dexcell

    Dave Dexcell Dexcell

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,127
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    noob to Southampton!
    i use FL and FL only Its so user friendly unlike some others, as everyone keeps saying its what u like not what anyone else likes i know a very VERY good producer that uses FL theres no problem with it just DONT!!! USE THE FL PRESETS!! coz they are shit and it will get noticed!

    Only one problem with FL u have to have a good pc to run it as the cpu run's out pretty quick, thats to everyone that actualy puts effort into tunes!! and has more going on than just samples of drums and bass lol
     
  9. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    i use windows but the fucking thing just died on me cos of this virus program fucking thing
     
  10. kenflex

    kenflex KenFlex

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    I love this topic as there are so many answers.

    I use Ableton Live 7 and I find it suits my needs, I'm getting Live 8 this week and if I had to use something else it would only be Logic and a Mac - and main due to the cost i can safely say i won't be doing that anytime soon. I had a buzz on Logic in the Bristol Apple store on Saturday and I felt it was pretty similar to Ableton in the fact that it has all the same things.

    There are only 2 or 3 major differences that will effect the usage of each DAW: 1) the audio engines differ on each DAW, 2) the quality of your Plugins & Samples and the biggest one - 3) the soft, water filled, spongey organism operating the damn thing.

    I started using Fruity and quickly found I out grew it, I wouldn't bother using the samples that come with it as there are specific places you can get good samples - if you pay for them, and I would try using better FX plugins if you plan on sticking with it. In the last 6 months I have started to secure remix work based on feedback from my work, and I find having the best quality samples I can find seem to up my game everytime I work on something new.
     
  11. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    funny post kenflex but its not about samples
     
  12. H*product

    H*product Heavyweight product

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Bristol
    i use cubase. it's not what you've got its how you use it. probly some of your favorite tunes back in the day were made on less equipment than most have inside their pc.
     
  13. kenflex

    kenflex KenFlex

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    funny post logikz but I think you missed my point - when you make music its not about picking a DAW - its about the sounds you come out with. You can have the most expensive set-up in the world but if your samples and sound design is crap then it doesn't matter what you used does it?
     
  14. kenflex

    kenflex KenFlex

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    H*product understands
     
  15. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    true but again were not talking about the samples the daw is bundled with.
     
  16. GiDriK

    GiDriK Lost in jungle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    A fruity lover here, but sometimes i use cubase too, mainly couz it can load all the wavs from a folder at once lol :D In Fl u have to load up wavs one by one. I mean if i export each channel of the song separatly if u know what im say'n loool :D
     
  17. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    i never figured that option out. you prime the channel in the mixer and then you can bounce all those channels down individually with one click?
     
  18. GiDriK

    GiDriK Lost in jungle

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2008
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tallinn, Estonia
    U select master channel, then click to export to wav and select the option Split mixer tracks, and it will export all the mixer tracks as separated wavs (say u have 20 mixer channels, u will have 20 wavs), ur master channel will be named selected, and when i load all them wavs together in cubase i delete the master wav(selected.wav) and then its my project in audio beautifly splited for better mastering!
     
  19. kenflex

    kenflex KenFlex

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff
    re-read my last post and tell me when i ever mentioned the samples a DAW is bundled with - what I said was it is about what samples you can come out it - as in what samples you use, i don't use the samples that come with ableton as I prefer to find or create my own.
     
  20. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    ffs. ok