forum views on production courses

I studied music technology at college and it did teach me quite a bit alot about production but if you're only doing it to get better at producing drum and bass it isn't that useful because they make you record loads of bands rather then teach you loads about synthesis. Guess it depends on the college though.

i think the truth is that if you really want to progress your production you take it into your own time, your never gonna have a chance to progress your drum and bass while your at college. But if you want music to be your life, then its definatly the right thing to do, because your gonna learn how a whole load of stuff works and not just producing.

Progressing your own productions is something you do at home i believe. Or wherever you have free time to produce dnb.

College will teach you how to use the software in a textbook fashion which doesn't strictly apply to DnB.

I good friend who releases tunes on one of the biggest labels in the scene played one of his tunes to a music college tutor... The tutor was impressed by what he heard - but on opening up the arrange he criticized the methods in which he made it by saying that some of the methods he used were not the way he should be doing things!

That's bollocks. DnB has it's own set of rules over and above standard production which they don't teach in college.

Having said that it's not s bad thing learning your sequencer inside out if you have the time to go to college.

College will teach you how to use the software in a textbook fashion which doesn't strictly apply to DnB.

I good friend who releases tunes on one of the biggest labels in the scene played one of his tunes to a music college tutor... The tutor was impressed by what he heard - but on opening up the arrange he criticized the methods in which he made it by saying that some of the methods he used were not the way he should be doing things!