Whats wrong with my setup???

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by Double Trouble, Apr 16, 2011.

  1. Double Trouble

    Double Trouble Double Trouble

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Hi all,

    My setup has recently stopped working properly and I am out of ideas, any help would be v.appreciated :)

    Spec:

    Cubase 5
    AMD Phenom Quad Core Processor
    Saphire Motherboard
    Realtek ALC662 Audio drive (not 100% on this)
    8GB DDR2 RAM
    500GB Hard drive
    Gainward GTS 450 Graphics Card


    When running a track, Cubase lags; clicks and crackles during playback. Also, looking at the mixer, there is a constant (small) signal going through the Stereo In.. It's quite odd, 80% of the signal is only going through the left channel.

    This has never happened before, my setup used to run very smoothly with no issues.

    Does anyone have any ideas??

    Thanks.
     
  2. Ray Sparra

    Ray Sparra Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Doesn't sound like much fun, couple of things you could checkout If you didn't already,

    Maybe update your drivers, whatever it is you use, apparently Asio4all are most stable,

    maybe you have a Latency problem? try adjusting your latency settings (but keep a record of the original ones)
    or
    possibly increase or decrease your sample rate temporarily When I use Ableton and I get this problem changing the sample rate seems to fix it, maybe different in Cubase

    possibly have not enough space on your harddrive, I think 20% is the recommended minimum

    possibly using too much cpu, maybe have a lot of reverb vsts on different channels, that will definately make the computer lag


    you may have thought of these already,If not hope you find the solution.
     
  3. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Update your audio drivers matey.
    If that doesnt work, sample rates are whatcha need to look at.

    I had the same thing with sonar.
     
  4. Double Trouble

    Double Trouble Double Trouble

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    cheers people im pulling my hair out here?? im downloading new drivers now iv played with the sample rate with no joy. ill let you know if the driver update worked
     
  5. Double Trouble

    Double Trouble Double Trouble

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    ok just updated drivers and its stopped everything apart from alittle clicking here and there i think iv played with everything now and cant seem to stop it any1 got any more ideas???
     
  6. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    constant small signal = noise from, mostly likley, your audio interface, check the routing in the software mixer, turn everything down, in/out/internal/monitor/etc, then slowly bring things back up until you find the problem. your audio interface might be on its way out too, turn everything down, synths, keyboards, mixers, whatever you have plugged in, then unplug them, add them in one at a time and adjust their mixer settings until you find the problem


    Realtec audio....well clicks and noise are to be expected from them to be honest! if you can, get yourlsef a cheap Audiophile 2496 card
     
  7. Double Trouble

    Double Trouble Double Trouble

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    @mist cheers 4 the advice mate managed to sort the input signal out defo need to upgrade from realtek thou. just get a little click here and there in playback seems to be when theres a few vst's running
     
  8. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Cheap ole soundblaster PCI card solved ALL my audio problems ive ever had btw. So might well be worth an investment.
     
  9. dabarke

    dabarke New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try buying cubase 5 instead of running a cracked copy >.< that will most likely sort your problems. I had a cracked vrsion of cubase 5 and i had similar problems....
     
  10. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Bullshit.
     
  11. sam the dnb man

    sam the dnb man Variation

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    10,437
    Likes Received:
    562
    Location:
    Feltham
    Pick up the PC. Take it to Cash Converters. Use the money earned to buy a few oz.
    Use profit to buy a mac.

    win
     
  12. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,160
    Likes Received:
    949
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
  13. dabarke

    dabarke New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    yh sorry its bullshit- i just came here 2 chat shit. sry folks
     
  14. Double Trouble

    Double Trouble Double Trouble

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Essex
    Why? why would i want to sit there looking at a laptop? pick up your mac. Take it to cash converters. use the money earned to buy a fucking BRAIN!