Using a DJM 400 abroad

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Axle, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. Axle

    Axle Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I was to buy a DJM 400 from America, would I have issues with the voltage difference seeming that I live in the UK?
     
  2. DTR

    DTR the village idiot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Yes you will. DJM400s don't have a selectable supply voltage so you'll have to get an adapter.
     
  3. DTR

    DTR the village idiot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Btw, if you are mail-ordering from the US, you will have to pay a 5% import duty then 17.5% VAT before Customs will let you have it.
     
  4. Con

    Con Others call me Phraze

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Watford
    You need to look for a step down converter, think its like 240v to UK standard.. u'll find them cheap but i'd recommend an average priced one.
    Also as DTR is saying although the price of ordering abroad is cheap they'll still try to spunge you VAT and import taxes, Plus there is next to no warranty either..

    Hope this helped
     
  5. Datt Male

    Datt Male Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,999
    Likes Received:
    22
    I think its a step up transformer coz we are 230v i think america is like 130 or sumink
     
  6. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
    I believe it's called an inverter. US run on 110 supply, UK is 240. Your going to have a mountain hanging out of your plug socket, an inverter and then on top of that an adapter for the 2 pin plug.
     
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2010
  7. DTR

    DTR the village idiot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    No its a step down transformer. You're stepping 230V down to the 110V that the mixer is expecting.


    It's not an inverter, inverters convert DC to AC. But I agree, it's a lot of shit to have hanging out the wall. I wouldn't do it.

    For the record I bought my Empath from the US a few years ago when the rates were really good. The Empath has a universal power supply so all I had to do was swap the power lead for a UK standard one. After paying the tax I still saved a few hundred quid.
     
  8. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
    Your right lol. No one would of thought that im actually a fully qualified electrical technician D'oh.
     
  9. DTR

    DTR the village idiot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    lol what do you do? I'm an electrical engineer (of sorts...) on the railway
     
  10. DJ COSHH

    DJ COSHH Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,675
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Southampton
    Work for Ford Motor Company, in a the Transit assembly plant in Swaythling. Maintain the equipment used to produce the Transit van bodies.
     
  11. pitts

    pitts Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bradford
    i could be wrong but i thought the main function of an inverter was to adjust frequency. As inverters are most commonly used to control the speed of motors by altering the frequency that is sent to the stator of the motor. But in order to do this they do have to convert ac to dc if the supply to the inverter was ac and if it was feeding an ac motor it would be converter back to ac before leaving the inverter.

    i tink that was right did it last year in utilisation for my HNC

    i work for Kone escalators

    big up electrical engineering :)
     
  12. DTR

    DTR the village idiot

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    Inverters are used for a few things, other uses are converting single phase AC to 3 phase, power smoothing in a UPS or converting 12V dc from a car battery to mains AC. But yes, they are often fed AC to begin with ;)
     
  13. pitts

    pitts Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bradford
    as we work on completely different trades we know completely different uses