shitty sound quality ...

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by hyperd4eva, Feb 23, 2011.

  1. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,484
    Likes Received:
    463
    whenever i see my mates mix they always have there mixer trim up at 12 o clock. But when i have mine up that high it always goes red in the db bit ( sorry not very technical with all the names)!

    i am currently running them through a shitty old highfigh through auxillary input! is it the better your amp and speakers are the higher u can have your trim?

    help pleease!!
     
  2. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Whats a mixer trim?
     
  3. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,484
    Likes Received:
    463
    the knobs at the top of the mixer (db) turns the volume of each channel up and down
     
  4. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Trim being gain/volume?.. Is that for each individual channel you mean or the master volume?

    Edit: Just seen.

    Turn your amp down and your gain up until you find just the right balance.. Because if your amp is on full whack it probably won't be able to handle the mixer's input coming into it that strong when it's turned up. Or even turn the master on the mixer down as you turn the gain on the channel up?!
     
  5. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,484
    Likes Received:
    463
    each individual channel mate. its a pioneer djm500 and they are right at the top above each channel
     
  6. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Edited my post for you mate. Pretty simple solution unless i have the wrong end of the stick here!
     
  7. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,484
    Likes Received:
    463

    cool mate. to be fair its prob my shit set up.. to be honest i do not even have an amp :/ its run through an old stereo! lol
     
  8. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Just read it again and realised it may well be your needles man? Are they shit too lol?
     
  9. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,484
    Likes Received:
    463
    They definately need replacement heads! lol expensive though man.. know the best place to get them? they are ortofon dj s ones.
     
  10. Subjekt Music

    Subjekt Music Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8,771
    Likes Received:
    577
    Get Shure m447's. Better sound quality and will last longer
     
  11. Sammy_Dodger

    Sammy_Dodger Mr Ed

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,559
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Peckham
    Could be your Aux on your hifi. It might be an amplified connection. If this is the case...your hifi is the problem
     
  12. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Have a look on ebay for just the stylus? If not just use google shopping, that will find the cheapest. I live by it!