Help with DnB beat in ableton live!

Discussion in 'Production' started by Subdynamix, Jan 4, 2011.

  1. Subdynamix

    Subdynamix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi!
    Trying to make a dnb beat on impulse in ableton live 8. What size grid do I use for the beats 1/8 or 1/16?
     
  2. richie_stix

    richie_stix gomby plz

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,507
    Likes Received:
    298
    hello mate, first thing i would do is swap that impulse for drum rack... with drum rack each instrument has its own fx channels (impulse, the fx apply to ALL samples)

    secondly, i use whatever the standard setting is... normally i make a pattern 2 bars long, but sometimes 4 or 8 depending on complexity... i'd only use 1/16 for making really wierd things

    (y)
     
  3. Subdynamix

    Subdynamix New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know a drum pattern is 2 bars long. But what i'm trying to say is for each single drum beat, what size grid do i use 1/16 or 1/8? I tryed it on both 1/16 and 1/8 can't hear no difference.
    Thx for the tip, i'll switch to the drum rack. Only been using ableton 3 months, still getting used to it.
     
  4. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Personally I don't even use drum rack or impulse
    I just use my kicks, snares etc as audio clips on audio tracks and then group them up after
    I just find its easier to work this way
     
  5. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    I work the same way in Cubase. Very easy to add little edits afterwards by just moving around some drum hits.
    But I do end up bouncing everything to WAV files @ the end, so one for main kick and snare, one for percussion, one for bass, one for sub bass, etcetera.
    Because I like to have fresh CPU when I'm starting the mastering process.