Beginner: Steps to take?

muzzadj

VIP Junglist
Sorry for the second thread, mega bored at work and got a load of questions running through my head production-wise!

What I want to know is what do you all see as the really key skills/techniques to learn for a beginner when it comes to producing? Obviously there is almost an infinite amount to learn so as a beginner i'm kind of just thinking where do I start? My theory is that if I spend some good time learning each process in itself so I actually know what i'm doing instead of opening up Cubase and just pressing a load of buttons I will feel like i'm actually learning something. I can make something that sounds OK with enough time, but i'll never actually know what the hell i've done to make it.

So would you suggest I take that bit of time in each small step learning what i'm doing instead of just making some noise? If so what are the really key things I should know? For example if i'm working on a kick should I really be giving a fuck and taking the time to learn what frequencies im messing around working with or just play around til it sounds ok?

I just want to know the fundamental key steps for a beginner really that if I take that time to sit and learn it will give me that little edge in production to help me get out of this pressing any old thing and hoping for the best.

I guess share those tips that really helped something 'click' for you, as I really do feel I need that right now to be able to move on and give myself that extra will power. Cheers peeps :)