Turning on VST's in FL

Discussion in 'Production' started by Nacon, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. Nacon

    Nacon Vidual

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Estonia
    I'm pretty sure some of you have come across this, you want to turn on some VST effect during the track, but i was just wondering if there is any other way that is more comfortable or simpler to automate some VST's like Fruity reeverb On and off, in a diffrent way than doing it like this as a pattern clip?
    [​IMG]

    If i am right you can record the automation as well, but is it more comfortable like that? What do you think
     
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2010
  2. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    Just click the record button, then the play button. Everything you do will be recorded now.
    So say you move the rotary button off the reverb, when you play it back at a later time that will be done again, but then automated.

    Don't forget to make a new AUTOMATION pattern, and record all your automation in there.
    I was working that way earlier, switched it to using automation clips.
    You can also use the 'Edit Events' window, which also has an built in LFO function!
     
  3. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    yeah i find it alot better recording automation than drawing it in.... its alot faster and not so boring!!

    drawing it in manually does have its uses though, i still draw alot of automation depending on the nature of it

    also, i'll usually convert recorded automation to automation clips so i can manually edit it.... this has its problems though, for starters, you end up with THOUSANDS of unnecessary automation points, it its a right pain trying to delete a load of them just to edit a small part of an automation clip...... another problem is that when you convert events to automation clips, fl doesnt automatically place the clip in the playlist, you have to do it manually, and try to find its start position. this can be over come by drawing in a tiny piece of automation at the start of the event editor prior to converting to a clip.... but its a fucking pain!!!
     
  4. Nacon

    Nacon Vidual

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Estonia
    Thanks for the ideas guys very helpful. Cheers.