Reason through ReWire - which sequencer is a good first try?

Discussion in 'Production' started by conclude, Oct 27, 2009.

  1. conclude

    conclude Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm using Reason right now and, even thought I'm a beginner, find the sampling a bit difficult and lacking (which it's probably supposed to).

    I was thinking about checking the ReWire tool out. What's a good first try? I've been thinking about using Reason through Cubase or FruityLoops.
     
  2. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Out of the two you've mentioned I'd personaly say Cubase mate, but a lot of people use Fruity and get good results.
     
  3. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    Ableton is great for live preformance of loops / ideas, and its pretty quick to get a groove or an idea down

    Reason is good for getting your idea down quick.
    Fruity is more for nailing down a quick idea

    Cubase is respected as one of the premier arrangement DAWs
    Protools is also respected as a premier arrangement DAW

    You can do all your sequencing on reason, ableton & fruity but the effects processing and overall mastering of things takes a lot more time and effort to get a good professional sound - however it can be done!
     
  4. conclude

    conclude Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright, thanks alot. I think I might check Cubase out, then. It doesn't hurt to be more well-rounded.
     
  5. vickvega

    vickvega Mr. Blonde

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    badlands of nc.
    i use it thru abelton -been doing it like that for a while
    simple+effective=titties
     
  6. subprime

    subprime Dysjoint

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,087
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    NZ
    titties ftw
     
  7. demonicdnb

    demonicdnb got duct-tape?

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    A, A
    ableton ftw
     
  8. conclude

    conclude Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard about Ableton. Also, I've had some sampling issues in FL (involving time stretching and pitching -- ctrl + Z doesn't work, etc). Maybe Ableton is a good shot in that case, before I try Cubase out?
     
  9. dj-dusty

    dj-dusty Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2008
    Messages:
    902
    Likes Received:
    1
    ableton is really good mate, i use it to record and touch up my finished tracks, usually bounce down the track and wack some decent eq's and compressors + a limiter on the master output.
    Another good thing to do is to bounce down each individual track from reason (with no effects) and apply the effects in ableton, they are so much better than in reason and you can be much more adventurous because you have a HUGE choice of VSTS to use.
     
  10. conclude

    conclude Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like a plan. Getting more and more interested in Ableton. Lotsa thanks!