Problem with Logic/Massive

Discussion in 'Production' started by Eskei, May 8, 2013.

  1. Eskei

    Eskei Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    I've made a nice (slightly Netsky-ish, I'm afraid to say) bass sound in Massive, and everything sounds fine until I hit play on Logic.

    Even if theres nothing going on in the arrange window at all, the sound becomes kind of crackley, almost like its clipping in a weird way (it isn't).
    This is happening when I'm just messing around on the keyboard (but only if I've hit play), recording, and if I've drawn the notes in.

    I've not had any issues with any other synths, nor have I had a problem like this with Massive before. Anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    First question, is it a legit copy of Massive?

    If yes, then check Service Center for any updates then see what's what.
     
  3. evermind

    evermind Broken Symmetry

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    330
    Location:
    NNY
  4. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    ^ This.

    If your copy is legit, check your CPU load meter. If it's spiking, select an audio track (not a MIDI/Instrument track) and press play. When you have an instrument selected while pressing play, the CPU actually works harder than having a non-instrument track selected.

    If that isn't working, you can either freeze the instrument track containing Massive or reduce the voice count in the synth itself.

    Cheers.
     
  5. Eskei

    Eskei Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yea it's all legit. I'm completely up to date as well, and the CPU isn't struggling. It seems to only be happening with that specific sound, which is odd.

    I've just made the sound using another synth for now, but still if anyone has an answer it'd be good to know what's going on.

    Cheers guys
     
  6. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Hmm that's proper strange.. Logic is dog sometimes so in all cases like this - just blame the DAW haha! You using 32 or 64bit?
     
  7. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Very strange indeed. If you want, send me the patch and I'll load it up to see if I get the same result.