Midi to Audio

Discussion in 'Production' started by SuburbanFilth, Nov 4, 2011.

  1. SuburbanFilth

    SuburbanFilth Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys just out of curiosity when u're tryin to save cpu u convert the midi track into audio, am i right?Then what do u do with the midis u keep them in the project or u dont i mean cause i just found out about that and i got 2 tracks named Beat,2 named bass and so on.
     
  2. JimpaDirt

    JimpaDirt Vettvilling

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    A galaxy far, far away
    That kind of depends.. you won't save cpu if u keep the midi track and get another extra audio track really. If you are completely sure that you don't want to change anything in the sound you aren't really in much need of the midi track. But i change my sounds all the time during the production of a track so I tend to keep everything in midi until the very end really!
     
  3. Defect

    Defect Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NZ
    A midi track with a synth plugin on it is going to use more cpu than an audio track with no plugins. You can make the midi track inactive and leave it in the session, that way if you do need to change the sound you can go back to it, and its not using up processing power.
     
  4. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    If I'm pushing the CPU I usually opt to freeze the midi tracks in question. That way I'll save CPU but can return to edit MIDI when I feel the need.
     
  5. SuburbanFilth

    SuburbanFilth Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ty for the info !
     
  6. msmith222

    msmith222 redbeard

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    agreed w/ lost. but wait, you have a track called "beat" i hope you have more than 1!
     
  7. SuburbanFilth

    SuburbanFilth Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    its a group of tracks (1 for Kick and snare 1 for HH and 1 for rides)