Mapping a wav sample across a midi keyboard?

Discussion in 'Production' started by mr meh, Jan 17, 2011.

  1. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Ok so i just got a midi keyboard and want to put single sound .wav samples into it so i can play the sounds in different notes, however the DAW im using doesnt have that ability. How do you guys go about doing this?

    cheers
     
  2. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Answered your own question matey. If the daw doesnt support it, you cant do it.
    A midi keyboard is literally just something that sends data to your software.
    What DAW are you using?
     
  3. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    I'm using Mixcraft 5, i can play midi files with the keyboard but not audio files in this DAW. I just asked elsewhere and they say i need a sampler software?

    Which samplers do people on here use for this purpose?
     
  4. ARTFX

    ARTFX www.artfx-studios.com

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Rotterdam, NL
    I think you are more looking for something towards Cubase, Logic or FL Studio.
     
  5. duttymonster

    duttymonster deep in the jungle

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cooden Beats
    or Reason ;D
     
  6. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    BH1
    Yeh this is easily done in Logic with the EXS24, can map anything to any note.
     
  7. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    this!
     
  8. mr meh

    mr meh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    107
    Location:
    Hull, UK
    Would Kontakt 4 do the job?

    ---------- Post added at 19:59 ---------- Previous post was at 19:12 ----------

    Ok i got it working in Kontakt 4