Has anyone tried mixing with ableton???

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by ScottyEightSix, Jul 20, 2008.

  1. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    I got Ableton 7 yesterday, and ive been trying to mix with it today, an every time i try an drop a tune in it ether starts a bar late or a 1/2 bar early, and I know its not me missing the drop as i can drop in perfectly on vinyl, cd decks, and virtual dj. Anyone got any ideas why its doing this???
     
  2. Critical12

    Critical12 No ! I cant WAIT!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    not sure from memeory, you tried setting the cue points?
     
  3. ABLETON is wicked.

    FRESH uses it for SONDWEAPON.

    I havn't used it much myself but it looks impressive and there is so much potential with it
     
  4. jay walker

    jay walker 1/2 of Passive/Aggressive

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,889
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    between a rock and a hard place, Hants
    Ableton is for the dj that cant mix :nurr_nur:

    that said, ive seen nuff videos, it does look like the ideal software for live remixing tracks. Its all about pre-planning your artillery of sound banks imo with ableton. :devilslay
     
  5. Greg P

    Greg P Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think I remember Rocksteady saying that he'd used ableton with the Mutant DJ's before, don't think he's been around for the past few days though, maybe try a PM to him if your getting desparate?
     
  6. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    I do have turntables and can beatmatch perfectly fine, I just got the program for producing but thought I could have a fuck about on it mixing
     
  7. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Its not that most of the tracks start on the first beat already, the program actually waits an extra bar before it drops.
     
  8. shadowdemon1990

    shadowdemon1990 Original Nuttah

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Messages:
    1,278
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Winchester
    Found this dunno if its any help but it dosn't say what version its 4 :shrug: was posted in another forum in april 07 so guessing it would be whatever version woz out then !!

    Ableton Live DVD Content

    1.Installation
    2.Setup
    3.The Menus
    4.The Browser
    5.Getting started
    6.The Library
    7.Control Bar
    8.The Mixer
    9.Arrangement View vs. Session View
    10.Clip Track View
    11.Warping 1
    12.Warping 2
    13.Recording Audio
    14.Audio Effects
    15.Beat Repeater
    16.Track Automation
    17.Transport
    18.Clip Transport
    19.Recording Midi
    20.Midi Editing
    21.Midi Effects
    22.Editing in Arrangement View
    23.Midi Remote
    24.Keyboard Remote
    25.Rewire
    26.Cue Monitoring
    27.Cross fader
    28.Launching Clips
    29.Simpler
    30.Operator
    31.Impulse
    32.VST Instruments
    33.Freeze
    34.Routing IO
    35.Clip Envelopes
    36.Follow Actions
    37.Sync
    38.Tips and Tricks: Granular Stretch, Changing BPM with Scene, Consolidating Clips, DJing with Live, No Cutting of Effects on Clips, Making beats with clip envelopes.


    Links


    http://rapidshare.com/files/10833555/AF.AS...rial.part01.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/10844274/AF.AS...rial.part02.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/10852151/AF.AS...rial.part03.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/10870732/AF.AS...rial.part04.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/10876090/AF.AS...rial.part05.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/12274975/AF.AS...rial.part06.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/12283224/AF.AS...rial.part07.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/10985672/AF.AS...rial.part08.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/10995921/AF.AS...rial.part09.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11008854/AF.AS...rial.part10.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11013665/AF.AS...rial.part11.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11018713/AF.AS...rial.part12.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11023642/AF.AS...rial.part13.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11167298/AF.AS...rial.part14.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11171458/AF.AS...rial.part15.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11174816/AF.AS...rial.part16.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/12293814/AF.AS...rial.part17.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/12303387/AF.AS...rial.part18.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11396215/AF.AS...rial.part19.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11404411/AF.AS...rial.part20.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11412401/AF.AS...rial.part21.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11421431/AF.AS...rial.part22.rar
    http://rapidshare.com/files/11425176/AF.AS...rial.part23.rar

    You need to download all parts then extract them using winrar etc .....
    Enjoy !!
     
  9. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    ableton for mixing??? new one to me, hows it work????


    anyway, in re to your problem.... sounds like a latency issue, try lowering the latency
     
  10. Critical12

    Critical12 No ! I cant WAIT!

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cheltenham
    this sounds correct, it may be a ram issue.

    and I also dont agree that DJ's that cant mix use it.

    IMO anyone can learn to beat match eventually, putting the right tunes togther is the creative part, then if you have more poabilites, i.e looping samples, effects ect, its gives more scope.

    Id actually say yeah its easy to beat match with software, (most of the time, but even the algorythms they use cant map some DnB tempo ect), but to master somthing like Ableton, or Traktor I would suggest is actually harder than mixing on turntables.o_O
     
  11. Sub-junkie

    Sub-junkie Alan Whyte

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2007
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Yeah Abletons awfy guid!But it is a total C**T to mix with especially if you are using downloads of other poeples tunes and dont know the BPM of said tunes.Using your own tunes is a lot easier as you set the BPM.Persevere though as ive used it loads and it is the shit!

    Its far better for live remixing though,as you have full control over EVERYTHING,which is always nice!
    Seriously I think you would be better off using Traktor or similar for mixing as Ableton isnt really for this purpose
     
  12. quorum

    quorum New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warwick
    when you trigger a sample in Ableton Live you can set when it starts. I.e at the beginning of a global bar or 1/2 bar or 1/4 bar etc. So if you have it set to 1/2 bar there will be a slight delay before the sample of track plays from when you hit the start button. Hope this makes sense.

    Not heard of many dj's using Ableton to Dj wiht drum and bass. More techno type music. Its good for chopping up entire songs into various chunks and adding effects and remixing stuff on the fly. Takes patience and practice of course -
     
  13. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,064
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD

    Cheers mate I'll check if its that or not