Doing complex filtering in FL10, getting weird "steps" by midi.

Discussion in 'Production' started by Elzerk, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yo,

    I made a nice filtering template in FL10 with multiple filtertypes and made parameters to be controlled via midi. I dropped a sample, and when I controlled parameters via knobs, it sounded like it was going in "steps". I have Behringer's usb-midi keyboard, could it be a lack of data transfer? It surely isn't my cpu, or do I have problems with samplerate?

    I attached a file so you can hear the "stepping" when controlling via midi. Is this common, or does using sample - not synth - have anything to do with this?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    Doesn't anyone have any ideas? Oh man.
     
  3. Rafi:ki

    Rafi:ki New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should maybe post the fl10 file itself?
     
  4. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    I don't see how that would help. I start really thinking now the problem is a delay between keyboard and my pc, hopefully things will sort when I buy new soundcard and link hardware thru dat
     
  5. Rafi:ki

    Rafi:ki New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok man.. good luck then
     
  6. Balthazaar

    Balthazaar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    704
    Likes Received:
    24
    I dont use fl 10,but maybe when you choose link to controller,under mapping formula you accidentaly pick steppy..maybe it is just a guess!!
     
  7. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    checked that one, and it's not because i control filter type, cause it happens with only cutoff controlling too.
     
  8. druu

    druu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Perth, West Oz
    Sounds like aliasing due to being a digital filter. Try find a better filter.