DJ Controllers

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Joey AdhD, Oct 23, 2011.

  1. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    Last edited: Oct 23, 2011
  2. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    anyone? if anyone does crop up i am gonna get the reloop mixage, and its your fault if its shit
     
  3. herojuana

    herojuana hairy kuala

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,589
    Likes Received:
    948
    Location:
    London/Sheffield
    For the record I have no idea about any of this stuff so I can't be responsible if it is shite, which it almost certainly is.
     
  4. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    this.
     
  5. craig@zool

    craig@zool New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Get a Numark Mixtrack Pro, Throw away the VDJ LE that comes with it and buy Traktor Pro! Job Done.
     
  6. krimson

    krimson Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    I 2nd the Numark Mixtrack Pro.

    Feels like a toy, but controls as well as my real gear. At the price point it can't be beat.
     
  7. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    I have the Traktor Kontrol S4 and have it upgraded to Scratch so I can have the Tech1200's plugged in. I've tried Pioneer's controllers but they feel like a cheap toy, especially the knobs. If you're on a budget, look at the Kontrol S2, and disregard the retail price - most shops (and online stores, i.e. zzounds.com) will drop the price by 10% - 15% if you charm them a bit.

    I would avoid Numark controllers like the plague...unless you map the controls to Traktor.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  8. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    cheers bro, but that control is out my league really, i am a turntable man at heart so its just something to tide me over,

    right, need a bit of help, i really like the look of the Reloop Mixage IE

    [​IMG]

    now tho is 200 quid and looks like it will do what i want and is a sturdy piece of kit, and has an inbuilt audio interface.

    but there is another one called the Reloop Mixage CE, which is 130 quid and is almost exactly the sam, but does not have a built in sound card, BUT, i own traktor and the Audio 6 interface

    [​IMG]

    will this audio interface i use for tractor on my technics work with this controller do you think? thus saving me 70 nicker?

    [​IMG]

    Is it worth forking out 200 nicker for a controller with a built in audio interface when i already own a tractor interface? i just don't know if it will work...

    i am totally new to this so help me.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  9. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    That SHOULD theoretically be ok.

    Havent had any experience with traktor interfaces though, so dont take my word for it.
     
  10. krimson

    krimson Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    Mixtrack Pro is fully supported out of the box in Traktor Pro. No mapping even required.
     
  11. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    Yup, the reloop and your audio 6 will work a treat with traktor :)

    I used the exact same setup for a while, a Digital Jockey 2 Interface Edition, 2 1210's and an audio 4. It covered all the bases nicely. But I would say that most controllers out there are pretty weak. My reloop stood up fairly well, I bought it second hand afterall. It lasted a good year or 2 and then the Cue and play buttons started to go. They'd double trigger sometimes, etc, pain in the arse and not something you could use out gigging.

    You get what you pay for, but even the most expensive controllers fuck up. Ive heard that the kontrol S4 isnt as durable as its meant to be, and my kontrol X1's have literally been used to death, ive had them replaced under warranty recently.
     
  12. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    I stand corrected. Thank you kindly.

    ---------- Post added at 13:35 ---------- Previous post was at 13:33 ----------

    That is my one beef with the S4 - the plastic top covering is a bit of a turnoff. I would've liked something a bit more sturdy/durable, but I suppose it was a design choice to keep the weight limit down. Nowadays I just mix with it while it's hanging out in it's flight case.
     
  13. Joey AdhD

    Joey AdhD sweaty scouser

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7,158
    Likes Received:
    298
    Location:
    Liverpool, United Kingdom
    i got a brand spanker M-Audio Xponent for 150 quid off a fat junglist bouncy castle salesman this morning, i am happy with it, the Torq isnt a bad program, i am gonna switch to traktor, jus doing my research now.

    Thanks for the advice troops, more than appreciated.
     
  14. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,061
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Looks nice, decent size pitch faders as well
     
  15. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    Its not actually the plastic top that breaks, its the components inside, it always is. Every manufacturer likes to keep shit as cheap as possible for obvious reasons. The gripe is that they fail regularly.
    As a handy twist of fate, they usually give up in under the years warranty. So ironically, if they'd spent 0.5 pennys more on each switch and or fader the product would last over the warranty, perhaps indefinitely (with proper care) and the manufacturers wouldnt have to constantly replace broken units.
     
  16. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ha, that is wonderfully ironic. One would think that this irony would be cause for them to manufacture higher quality/durable internal parts...but of course, that would simply make too much sense now wouldn't it. :)

    Cheers.