Distortion in a mix

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by ZackMRG, Apr 18, 2013.

  1. ZackMRG

    ZackMRG Circles are Pointless

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Halesowen, UK
    The title probably makes the situation sound more retarded than it is, I've recorded enough mixes in the past but these were all on my old mixer- but now that I own a Xone 92 Im having some serious issues- mainly how ridiculously impossible it seems to be to record a mix that isn't distorted to fuck with bass.

    Admittedly Im recording through a three year old notebook which is slow as fuck and in dire need of an upgrade- but recording all my old mixes I never seemed to have a problem with it, I've tried quite a few things now, adjusting the input volume, turning the gains down to 75%/ 60% (and still keeping the volume levels around half way if not lower), constantly keeping on eye on my LED's which always seem to be green and yet everything I record the wave format is permanently on overkill.

    Any ideas what could help me out here?
     
  2. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,800
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    You using vinyl, cdj's or dvs?

    What software you using to record?
     
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  3. fractal

    fractal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    bristol/birmingham
    sounds like somethings plugged into phono and you want it in line?
     
  4. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    could be your software input is too high. doesn't sound like you have a problem with your set up
    http://cdn.portableapps.com/AudacityPortable.png
    see the pic of the microphone.. turn that down. i think your input signal is too hot for it. sorry if thats teaching your grandmother to suck eggs.
    if your recording with rca's coming out of the record section of your mixer, adjusting the master volume will not change the record output in most mixers
     
  5. johneysvk

    johneysvk tnuc

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Slovakia
    ^ yeah that, i switch the cables and record from master out, and have my speakers plugged into the record out
     
  6. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,307
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London
    Nice Duran Duran reference there m8. If your mixer ain't redlining Zac it's difficult to see how it could be anything other than the Audacity thing. IMO.
     
  7. johneysvk

    johneysvk tnuc

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2013
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    Slovakia
    It's most likely what Teddybizzle said. Took me a while to figure that out with my mixer
     
  8. ZackMRG

    ZackMRG Circles are Pointless

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Halesowen, UK
    This is what I ended up doing, just to limit the amount of sounding going through to my shitty laptop, which still decided to throw in some background noise over the quiet parts after I stopped it from distorting everything, but between the two id definitely take the background noise, you can hardly hear it when it gets into the mix.

    And Im using vinyl, technics, ortofon pro s, so everything is pretty up to scratch- except the laptop and Audacity which I still use unwillingly, but that again is down to my laptop and the fact its pretty prone to freeze on me.

    TL: DR: My laptop is shit.
     
  9. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    BH1
    The record out on Xones is -10db to stop this exact thing happening. Deffo input volume in your recording software as per Teddy
     
  10. Tensor

    Tensor Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    London
    If you're having problems with background noise, turn the mic input volume on your laptop down as far as you can and turn up the master output volume on your mixer
     
  11. fractal

    fractal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    113
    Location:
    bristol/birmingham
    you might get some noise/a hum or something if the power supply to your laptop is plugged in whilst you record aswell
     
  12. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2013
  13. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    BH1
    That video is so dumb. I can kinda see the benefit if you know what you are doing but average DJs who watch that video will just stop caring about getting their levels right and use that method.

    I also love how many times he says 'professional' whilst using Audacity LOL