What computers are you using for your music.

Discussion in 'Production' started by LG18, Nov 29, 2014.

  1. LG18

    LG18 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    I run an 8 core mac pro from 2010, and have a slave PowerMac G5 from 2004.

    How about you guys?
     
  2. SubstanceD101

    SubstanceD101 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2014
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I run a HP Pavilion Entertainment Laptop that i've had since maybe 2009 or 2010 still works fairly well no complaints really
     
  3. djdizzy

    djdizzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    i'm using a dell laptop, windows 7 pro x64, quad core intel core i7 with 16gb ram and ableton 9. once in awhile I use my wife's imac which has an intel core i7 and logic pro x. no complaints at all.
     
  4. iamcluster12

    iamcluster12 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    2014 Macbook Pro, 2.8GHz quad-core Intel Core i7, 16GB ram and the 1tb hard drive. only had it a few months now but was a solid investment, no problems so far :)
     
  5. LG18

    LG18 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    My G5 coped fine for years. Solid machine all round.

    It wasn't until I started to use large sample libraries that I needed something more powerful.
    Allot of the libraries I use are very CPU intensive, and most importantly eat up RAM like it's nothing.
    A single patch in Cinematic strings 2 for example, can eat up over 500mb's of RAM in a single patch.
     
  6. djdizzy

    djdizzy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    on 2nd thought I do have a small complaint. I wish I had SSD instead of a mechanical hard drive cuz the hard drive is definitely my bottleneck for performance. but like everyone else here I need a large drive to store various production-related shit. SSD isn't big enough and get too expensive.
     
  7. Phobic

    Phobic Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    24
    mac mini 2013 16gb 2.3 GHz i7 core. 1 TB hard drive. I TB back up time machine. only regret is not upgrading to ssd as it's fast but could be way faster. overall great portable studio solution that has the balls to run quite a bit at once.
     
  8. SubMix

    SubMix Mastering Engineer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    2013 Macbook Pro, 16GB RAM, i5 dual core, with 1 500GB SSHD. The upgrade to SSHD made a huge difference to the overall performance of the machine and is a worthwhile expense in any music machine. I wish I'd done that before the RAM upgrade to be honest. I'd have gone fully solid state over hybrid if I'd had the money at the the as well. The read time to and from the HDD is mega fast.

    Absolutely no issues with any of my ITB editing software, or use with Ableton running multiple synths and plugins in a live environment.
     
  9. LG18

    LG18 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    10
    If you want to use SSD, the best thing to do in my opinion is just use it as a second drive.
    Have your regular 7200 drive for the majority if your stuff, and then us a smaller SSD drive for heavier work.
    My sample libraries or on my SSD for faster load times with more complicated sample scripting, and then everything else is on a 1tb 7200rpm drive.
     
  10. Skuff

    Skuff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    I use a home built Windows 7 PC with ssd, i7 quad core and 16gb ram.
     
  11. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    i7 with a ssd from pc specialist, does the job very nicely, contemplating upgrading ram to 16gb at some point as when I'm using a lot of vsts like addictive drums, keys and any synths the 8gb can get a bit low!
     
  12. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,088
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    I use a Dell Inspiron 15R SE, i7, 8gb, win7 pro 64x. Never gave me problems, for both music production and gaming.
     
  13. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    London
    i7 haswel quad + 16gb ram laptop, and old-skool quadcore + 8gb ram in desktop. all ssd's these days!

    i duno how we managed to do anything with dual cores...and single cores? damn... :D
     
  14. Innovine

    Innovine Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    sweden
    I don't use one. I've an mpc1000 and a yamaha a3000 for sampling, an rm1x and the mpc for sequencing, and a virus and k4r for synths and pads. Add a few misc effects and an edrumkit for programming beats.
     
  15. bull3tpr00f

    bull3tpr00f Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    29
    ZX spectrum +2
     
  16. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,163
    Likes Received:
    950
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    An old Socket 1156 mobo and i5 with 8GB of DDR3.