Drum & Bass Syncing Voice Question?

Discussion in 'Production' started by Trypta, Nov 25, 2013.

  1. Trypta

    Trypta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all I am building a new track at the moment I just have a question I know that when your using an acapella you have to change the tempo of it then sync to the percussion, but I am wondering if this apply to a small sample of a person speaking I sampled from a documentary. Would be good to here from anyone, Thank you.

    Trypta..
     
  2. oversight

    oversight Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    kent uk
    I find it better with speech samples to chop them into sections or words depending how you want them to fit the tune.
     
  3. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    ^ This. Also, it doesn't hurt to throw a noise gate on at the beginning of your processing change to clean up any unwanted background/ambient noise from the source.
     
  4. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,090
    Likes Received:
    888
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    What they said, but I, personaly, have used some sampled spoken words on some tracks and didn't care at all with them being synched to the bpm of the song. It's all up to you.
     
  5. MisterApe

    MisterApe 8bit junkie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Fortress Europa
    I feel like spoken word samples lose their power if they're tempo synced.
     
  6. Trypta

    Trypta New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for replying yeah It worked perfectly, and the noise gate helped a lot because the clip had a subtle sound going on in the background:)