problems with logic 8 crashing!!!

Discussion in 'Production' started by unknownelementz, Dec 30, 2009.

  1. unknownelementz

    unknownelementz Elementz

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north east
    hi i have just bought an i mac (20" screen 4 gig ram 500 hard drive) and running logic pro 8 on it, it keeps freezing and then giving me a message saying "logic has quit and has saved your work, it has got to the point now where every time i press play on one of my projects it does it! what can i do?
     
  2. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    is it retail?
     
  3. druu

    druu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Perth, West Oz
    Could be a plugin you're using in the project. Try to trash logic's preferences?
     
  4. unknownelementz

    unknownelementz Elementz

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north east
    yeh i think its a vst i have recently downloaded( massive), do you know how to uninstall vst's, (v new to mac's)
     
  5. druu

    druu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Perth, West Oz
    Check these locations:

    [Hard disk]\Library\Audio\Plugins\

    &

    [user]\Library\Audio\Plugins\
     
  6. unknownelementz

    unknownelementz Elementz

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north east
    yeh does anyone know how to delete the massive database on a mac, because that is what i need to do to stop logic crashing, but can not find it any where? help cheers x
     
  7. druu

    druu Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Perth, West Oz
    User\library\app support\native instr?
     
  8. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    BH1
    I've already had to do this. I'll post up when I get home but Druu is pretty much there. You need to manually remove the Massive component file from ALL folders related to Logic. You may have to buy Massive, I will have as no cracked ones work on Logic 9
     
  9. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    really! then again nothing works on mac sooooo
     
  10. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    this is why you should buy your software = no problems.
     
  11. Fes Rock

    Fes Rock Nothing..........

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    15,258
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    U WOT M8?
    ^^ this is why mac cracked there software so noobs will buy macs.
     
  12. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes Received:
    886
    Location:
    BH1
    Noobs buy Macs? Elatorate if you will big man ;)