How to get a nice 170BPM in FL Studio?

Discussion in 'Production' started by lhalha, Feb 24, 2004.

  1. lhalha

    lhalha New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    Just a quick question for the FL users...

    To get a track running at 180bpm with 32 beats to the bar, I always end up setting the tempo to 720 bpm, 16 bars, and 4 beats to the bar (I think this is right, I'm not in front of that machine at the moment)... Ok so I guess I could also set the tempo to 340 and 16 beats to the bar

    Anyway...

    If I set the tempo to 170bpm, I can't work out how to get the number of beats I want in a bar. The maximum I can get is 16, which is not a high enough resolution for making a D&B track.

    Is there another way? I have tried playing with the various setup options but never seem to get anywhere.

    Of course running the track at 340 or 720 is not a problem in itself, but when using tools like the fruity slicer, it places all the notes together at the start of the pattern grid, and you have to manually move them along to get the beat running in "proper" time.

    Hopefully someone will understand what I am bangin on about.

    Any ideas?

    Cheers

    Leon.
     
  2. Affliction

    Affliction thought size didnt matter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2002
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    You get alot more flexability when using the piano roll editor rather then the step sequencer... you can change the quantization to beats, 8ths 16ths etc etc... Also you can zoom in an out on your arrangement to make fine alterations :pimp:
     
  3. mesh

    mesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    INSIDE
    I've only messed around on FL, but I set the bar length to 32, speed 170-180, without any problems.
    If it was previously set lower you have to then expand the window so it shows the whole bar length.
    uuum hope that helps
    :moe:
     
  4. lhalha

    lhalha New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sydney
    thanks for your answers.. will let you know how I get on.. i think the quantising is going to be the way to go - I'm pretty sure I can't set my version (4.2) to more than 16 beats...
     
  5. mesh

    mesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Messages:
    4,414
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    INSIDE
    I only got version 3 mate, go to Options -> Song Settings -> Bar Length.

    :slayer: