Fruity Loops Mixer Question

Discussion in 'Production' started by zeroday, Apr 26, 2012.

  1. zeroday

    zeroday New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Summerville, South Carolina, United States
    I wasn't sure if this was the right place to post my question. It's DAW-specifc.

    I'm working on a new track and I layered my kicks and snares how I wanted and EQ'd and tweaked them all by sending all the samples to seperate channels. Now I want to automate a lowpass cutoff on all of the drums in the song. Problem is, they're all in seperate channels and I can't figure out how to keep them in seperate channels but at the same time group them all in another channel so I can apply a filter to all of them. Is that possible in Fruity's mixer? I tried "Create submix to" to link them to another channel. It worked, but fr some reason, it screwed up the EQ on the instruments...I think.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. T:M

    T:M Dusty Techno Workout

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,016
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    St. Louis
    You want to send them to a buss. I don't know how to do it as I don't use FL Studio. YouTube is your friend. :)
     
  3. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    Route every already layered, ready drum hit to a same channel so you have all drums on one channel and then filter. Choose "Route to only this channel"
     
  4. Attire

    Attire Last Winter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,255
    Likes Received:
    69
    At the bottom of each mixer channel there should be a little arrow pointing up. Select your various drum channels and click this arrow on an empty channel, say, channel 15, and do this for for each drum channel, that routes them together to the same channel. Don't forget to take them out of the master bus though.. You can do that in the same way, except you're turning the arrow off on the master bus.
     
  5. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    I usually choose route only to this channel, that's a one thing why I like FL so much, it is very versatile.
     
  6. Attire

    Attire Last Winter

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,255
    Likes Received:
    69
    Is that a right click thing?
     
  7. ApeCat

    ApeCat Human Dubplate

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,932
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    In the mixer, select each drum hit channel in turn and click the arrow under the master channel, and turn the knob on the "Send 1" channel up to 80%.

    Apply FL Fast LP or whatever to Send 1, Bob's your uncle.

    ---------- Post added at 11:00 ---------- Previous post was at 10:59 ----------

    What's this wizardry? Is it what I said, but all in one go?
     
  8. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    we do both, all sounds to individual channels, then route all them to a single channel which in turn goes to the master. very pro tools eqsue.
     
  9. Elzerk

    Elzerk 00111100 00110011

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    48
    Yeah I layer already millions of times layered hits in the project again to one mixer track and take all of them into a master drum bus.

    It is a right click thing in FL10, you can sidechain with right click too and add a fruity limiter to change the sidechaining parameters in it's comp section.