Anyone wanna help make this bass sound? :)

parsons19

VIP Junglist
Wow,

Just heard this tune, really love it :) I guess its future garage this one, I know I have heard this sound from old darker garage tunes though! (Puts me in mind of Wookie)

I would say this bass is probably really simple to make, I could probably do it if I put my mind to it. But ya know, having writers block and stuff makes you lazy :lol:

Starts at 0.59

I'm far from a pro on synthesis man! :lol: I kinda have got the idea of making sounds, but I don't know how to recreate stuff...

When I make sounds its more of a trial and error muck around thing :lol:

Away from my computer with all my stuff on it but I do believe there are squares at work here, just you gots a starting point. I'll give it ago in a bit for you.

Safe man, thanks very much! I will load up Massive in five minutes and have a play around myself actually. Best to try and learn I suppose!

---------- Post added at 19:55 ---------- Previous post was at 19:24 ----------

I tried to make the bassline. It sounds ok but I'm sure you can do a better job T:M!

The notes to the bass (for the first part) in this tune are F, F, F#, F.

My settings (in Massive) are:

Osc 1 & 2. Both Square - Saw 1. Wavetable all the way to the left (for a square). Both at -24.

Modulation - Ring Mod on 2 and Phase on 1. Both turned up a little bit.

Through a Lowpass filter. Bring the Res down. Bring the cutoff to about a quarter. (so like inbetween nothing and halfway!).

Use Env 1 on the cutoff. Bring it up a teeny bit! Have Env 1 with little attack. Full Level (next to attack). Decay in the middle. (Level next to this just under a half). No release.

I then changed Env 4 settings. Same as Env 1 except Decay at full and the level of this at a quarter! Not a great attempt from me!? :lol:

Also, I turned this sound into a nice old style wobble by simply adding an LFO on the cutoff and a dimension expander! :)