Ableton sidechain compression question

Discussion in 'Production' started by Krispy, Aug 23, 2013.

  1. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Probably a rather simple question for a lot of you but after much messing around can't seem to figure this out for some reason....
    I want to create a ghost channel that combines the kick and the snare to use for sidechain compression. If I duplicate the channels but have them muted how do I still send to the ghost channel? I can't seem to figure it out for some reason because whenever I have them muted there is just no volume. It's probably so simple but I am being an idiot.

    How do I send the duplicates of my kick and snare (that are muted) into another channel and have the channel display volume output
    If that makes sense lol
     
  2. dirtydishes

    dirtydishes New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Darwin
    Just click on the track no. (in the square) in session view, it disables the track sig from going to the master.
     
  3. lasiien

    lasiien Meh

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2012
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Chester, UK
    If I am trying to route something to sidechain into a third party compressor or VST I usually use a send - send your kick, snare, whatever to 'Send C' then in the in/out routing out route it back to the channel with the VST (normally you can see the VST listed). This way you can also adjust the volume of how much you send and also you can even put a filter on the send channel itself if you only want certain parts (e.g. just the low end).
     
  4. IFTN

    IFTN Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Berlin
    also in the sidechaining options on the compressor make sure you have it on "Pre FX" or "Post FX" and NOT "Post Mixer", cus then it will take the signal after it comes out the mixer (i.e. after you've muted it)

    edit: unless you've muted it with an FX plugin (like a utility with the volume all the way down or a filter or something), in which case it needs to be on "Pre FX"!
     
  5. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    I believe you hit the nail on the head! I think I had it as post mixer :D

    Thanks for the help everyone
     
  6. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    allot of faffing about....load up Abletons compressor on ur bass channel, switch on the sidechain (little button top left) and choose a channel input, sorted
     
  7. Krispy

    Krispy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    760
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Ya I understand that
    What I am trying to do is have my kick and snare combined into one channel together (muted) and then send this to my bass channel compressor
    The difficulty was getting the compressor to recognize this muted/combined channel
    or I was doing the wrong thing while combining the two together

    I believe the answer is to send them both to a channel that is muted and then have the compressor recognize this muted channel but make sure the compressor is not set to post mixer
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2013
  8. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    or just use two compressors, I think that will give you better control esp of the envelope, attack and decay settings are important parts of the setup that are generally quite diffrent between a kick and a snare - but yeah, input to pre if its muted