Ableton or Logic for DnB/Liquid?

Discussion in 'Production' started by alaska, Aug 16, 2012.

  1. alaska

    alaska Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which is better overall and why?
     
  2. Dom!Reavers!

    Dom!Reavers! Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    cowbell is better
     
  3. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
  4. EvenStash

    EvenStash Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Purley Oaks, United Kingdom
    A tamberine and a violin worked a treat for me
     
  5. alaska

    alaska Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Come on guys
     
  6. duckstep

    duckstep Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    2
    Whichever you are most comfortable / have knowledge of, dont really think there's a "this is best for x music style".
     
  7. lostnthesound

    lostnthesound Burns Easily in the Sun

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,397
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Both have advantages & disadvantages. Like duckstep said, you really need to try them both out to see which one is more suited towards your way of working.
     
  8. alaska

    alaska Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am an FL user but am switching to a Mac. Wondering which DAW is most similar and has best workflow.
     
  9. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    sorry mate just this question gets asked so so much around here, half of us have just resorted to taking the piss. reason being is because non is better than the other, you just gota grab the demos and see what you get on with best.

    all the best
     
  10. System800

    System800 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    As has already been mentioned, get what suits your way of working best. When I first started making music, I was using an old Korg hardware sequencer, my first computer based sequencer was Noisetracker on the Amiga. I later got an Atari and used Cubase for years, then they rewrote the program and changed everything, cut out most of the hardware support (which I needed), so I switched to Logic. Never looked back.

    At the end of the day, when your tracks are rocking on the dancefloor, nobody will know what sequencer, synths, samplers or whatever you used. I've even heard good tracks made on the Playstation. Basically, use what you find easiest.
     
  11. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    Music 2000! takes me back
     
  12. JimpaDirt

    JimpaDirt Vettvilling

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    A galaxy far, far away
    You don't need no daw if u get one of these:

    [​IMG]
     
  13. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    There's nothing similar to FL in terms or layout etc
     
  14. System800

    System800 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    2
    Extremely low latency and awesome anti-aliasing...
     
  15. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    2,521
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    haha totally. if youre switching to mac i guess logic is the way to go. just a totally different way of working is all, compared to flp i mean.
     
  16. Dom!Reavers!

    Dom!Reavers! Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    If you've got a mac just get on logic. Its a great DAW and having a mac you've got the opportunity to use it. As said before no workflow is like FL's, but with logic the stock plugs are great you really dont need anything else. For Example:



    this is a mate of mine and I know for a fact he only uses standard logic plugins and instruments. case closed.
     
  17. elmaruk

    elmaruk slannndaaaaaaar

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,749
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Bristol
    cool prod not too keen on the tuna though
     
  18. alaska

    alaska Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried out live and I don't like it :/
     
  19. alaska

    alaska Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does Logic run smoothly on Mountain Lion? I've heard from a number of users that there are a lot of bugs.
     
  20. Dom!Reavers!

    Dom!Reavers! Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    yeah its not his best tune, but its an official remix for delilah. Just shows you can go places without every 3rd party plug in the world :)