My Studio Build Thread (Pics..)

[Hedfone]

aka VURSO
a studio build thread, if you have any experience or tips which would come in hand, please leave a reply as i havn't done this before!!

I've been producing and mixing for a few years now, and have always wanted a place outside of the house to do it (I still live at home and as you all probably know, it's noisy business)

I've finally made the step from my bedroom to a seperate room inside our garage, it may look small in the pics but the exterior dimensions are 2.4m x 2.4m, (so minus a couple of inches for the timber and plasterboard etc),

My aim is to make a space where i can happily mix and produce at a decent volume without pissing anyone off, the main work surface will be directly opposite the door as you walk in (for all my production stuff, desktop mididi keyboard etc.) and there will be another on to the left of the door, to the right there will be a 2 person sofa.

worksurface will beabout 80cm high, havn't worked out the heightof the decks yet though.

the walls will be made up of plasterboard, loft insulation, wall insulation and carpet for the inside), the floor will be made of floor insulation foam, floorboards and carpet,

I will make 2 CDJ stands which will go somewhere on the wall (can't decide where they will go yet though) and make a recess for my mixer,

here are the pics;

van after the first b&q trip
dsc05542z.jpg

garage before
dsc05546n.jpg

outside frame
dsc05548ql.jpg

noggins and verticals in place
dsc05553n.jpg

made another one,
dsc05558n.jpg

the endtrance, i will have to walk round the back of the garage and through a seperate room, i like it this way though
dsc05566y.jpg

the frames secured into the walls and floor,
dsc05571uz.jpg

the 14 sheets of plasterboard and 6 sheets of insulation, 4 sheets of floorboard and some more wood waiting tonight..
dsc05579i.jpg

as the garage stands now.
dsc05582hj.jpg