Would these computers be good to run alberton on smoothly

Discussion in 'Production' started by flat1985, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. flat1985

    flat1985 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    3
  2. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    good old alberton.lol
     
  3. flat1985

    flat1985 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    3
    Listen i am new to this lol. What program would you suggest
     
  4. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    ableton maybe?
     
  5. flat1985

    flat1985 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    3
    WOOOOPS i mean ableton lol
     
  6. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    id say any of them shud run abletone fine man
    laptops an pcs have gotten so cheap these days
    well for what they got
    my laptop got in 2008 has only 2gb ram an 250 gb hd
    an it was 550
     
  7. flat1985

    flat1985 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2009
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    3
    ok mate cheers for the advice
     
  8. Skuff

    Skuff Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,039
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    If you go for a desktop, get one built to the spec you want instead of buying from PC World etc, As it will work out a lot cheaper for a better spec, and it wont be filled with loads of junk... For the price of the one in your link you could get one thats loads better.. I just had one built for £650 with a I7 processor, 16gb 1600mhz ram, 140gb ssd for O/S and software, 2TB slave drive for samples and such, and USB3..`Running Windows 7 64 bit.. Although i had windows 7 already so that wasn't in with the cost
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  9. d-low

    d-low I know you got soul

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    169
    before you splash out on albert0N i recommend grabbing some demo's or dare i say (illegitimate versions) of different programs, fruity, cubase etc. and see which one suits you best ;) nothing wrong with it but well worth doing as you will always find different producers work better in different programs and you dont want so spend upfront to find out you want to use a different one right?
     
  10. Lucider

    Lucider Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    193
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    If you're comparing computers get the fastest frontside bus (FSB). FSB is outdated terminology though. Intel calls it ... something. Let's call it "Liquid Link". No! "Super Lube", wait wtf? Ummm, Mega Upl...fehhhhh, Supercardiod System Ligature. And AMD calls it HyperTransport.

    FSB, GHz, RAM (meh, not that critical IMO - it's all fast these days)

    FSB is important.
     
  11. Indigo

    Indigo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Birmingham UK
    If you get a soundcard like an mbox mini it should run fine
     
  12. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD


    lol, Flat why did you not pick up on this?
     
  13. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,032
    Likes Received:
    650
    i wrote that deliberitly obviously
    i just cant remember why
     
  14. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,060
    Likes Received:
    623
    Location:
    CHINFORD

    Hmmmm... I'll pretend I believe you :D