Working with vocals?

Discussion in 'Production' started by Ease, Jan 14, 2013.

1. Ease

Ease Member

so i have been doing a remix of chucky d wine fast wine slow(with reason 5 (accapella available here for anyone that wants it http://tcooo.podomatic.com/entry/2013-01-04T06_05_41-08_00 )). i have never worked with vocals that are a different bpm to the track im working on so it was a bit of a learning curve, so i took the original vocal and loaded into ableton and pulled the bpm down to about 89bpm(close enough i thought) then i chopped it up and loaded it into the nnxt, this worked fine for a while but slowly over time it runs out, so i started playing with the sample start switch to pull it in a bit more, worked a bit better but still runs out.

heres the tune anyways
    https://soundcloud.com/#elliotstunes/winefastwineslow-remix

just wanted to know how everyone else does it, is there an easier way etc etc....?

2. spyre

spyre sample all the things

Well what i'd do is edit it in ableton with the warp markers so that it fits the bpm you want, then render it out as a new file. And then you can chop it up 'cause it'll be in the right tempo.

3. Ease

Ease Member

only got ableton recently, tis only the light version i havent explored enough tbh, will look into warp markers though, cheers mate

4. charlie.joyce

charlie.joyce Joy-c

Anybody got any tips on how to do this without Ableton?? Also any tips on how to sus out what key the vocal is in.

5. Psychoholic

Psychoholic Quantum Cunt

If you can't hear it by just listening you can play piano notes until you hit the same note as the vocalist. Done.

6. charlie.joyce

charlie.joyce Joy-c

Yeah ok! Any tips on laying out vocals? Like different bpm accapellas or different bpm remix stems

7. Eternaloptimist

Eternaloptimist Active Member

try and get melodyne - lets you change the key of vocals.

for stretching without affecting pitch i use logics flex --- otherwise try quick quack pitchwheel

8. spyre