Windows 8.1 - Studio worthy?

Discussion in 'Production' started by Deekay[AUS], Jan 14, 2014.

  1. Deekay[AUS]

    Deekay[AUS] Buffy's Bedtime Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Hey guys, just noticed 8.1 has been released. For the heads that are using 8 on their studio machines I have a couple of questions.

    1. Any noticeable differences between 7 and 8?
    2. How often if it does happen, DAW crashes etc?
    3. Is it worth it in the long run to upgrade?

    I am just in the middle of backing everything up and planning to do another re-install with Win7 but seeing what the options are. Cheers
     
  2. Tone1304

    Tone1304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southend-on-sea
    basically windows 8 is windows 7...with a tab screen which is aimed at touch screen users, i use ableton and it very rarely crashes (didnt really crash much with 7), although, windows 8 does make my laptop turn on very quickly soo theres that but over all probably not really worth it
     
  3. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,086
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    I've never upgraded from 7 to 8. Still, I didn't read any complaints about DAW crashes on 8. Now, if you don't use your desktop (or laptop) exclusively to music production (I use it for gaming too) then you should consider stick with 7.
     
  4. AlienWeapon

    AlienWeapon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    16
    I use 8, Never had a crash or any problems really.
     
  5. Dugg Funnie

    Dugg Funnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    238
    This. I've heard about people having all sorts of problems with 8, they must've been noobs cuz idk what they were doing to fuck up so hard.
     
    Deekay[AUS] likes this.
  6. smoothassilk

    smoothassilk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    155
    I'm considering upgrading from XP to 8. Student discount, £50.

    It's worth remembering that if 99% of people think something's fine, and 1% hate it, the 1% will make more noise than everyone else put together.
     
  7. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,086
    Likes Received:
    887
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    To be honest, I just didn't upgrade because of compatibility problems with some games I love to play, and because I just dind't like the interface. After what? 20 years using the button "start" (or call it wathever you want) they just take it off and want us to deal with "colored gigantic squares" on the screen.
     
  8. MisterApe

    MisterApe 8bit junkie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Fortress Europa
    Windows 8.1 works fine so far here with Cubase 7.5, only problem I have is that my midi controller doesn't always work. (Novation Impulse 25)
     
  9. alz

    alz compress to impress

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    63
    Location:
    Oxford
  10. Deekay[AUS]

    Deekay[AUS] Buffy's Bedtime Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Well when I first got this laptop I got rid of 8 straight away. Chucked 7 on because I am so familiar with it and never had that much troubles with it. Did a bit of research just before, seems to be the go for touch ie live performances and stuff. But if you tweak/config your system right, I don't see why you should have any dramas with it anyways.
     
  11. Dugg Funnie

    Dugg Funnie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,401
    Likes Received:
    238
    you can still use the standard desktop you're used to, and moving the mouse to the lower-left corner brings up a box that takes you to that screen, so it's just like the start menu but much faster/easier to move through to find what you're looking for. imo.
     
  12. Deekay[AUS]

    Deekay[AUS] Buffy's Bedtime Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Well I am going to bite the bullet and give it a red hot go anyways. If I don't like how it is, I can always go back.
     
  13. Sulihin

    Sulihin Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2011
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Lutz, Florida, United States
    Once you get use to it not being XP, 8 isn't so bad IMO. I had similar issues to MisterApe in that my M-Audio Mini-Keystation 32 doesn't work often since I upgraded to 8.1. Still miss my Mac, but my battery expanded and I've been too poor/lazy to get it fixed so I've been using my gaming laptop for production instead.
     
  14. Deekay[AUS]

    Deekay[AUS] Buffy's Bedtime Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Jesus, just read that Win 9 is rumored to be released next year.

    Paul Thurrott reports that the next major update to Windows, code-named "Threshold," originally planned as an update to Windows 8, will now likely be called Windows 9, "in order to distance itself from the Windows 8 debacle." It may be ready by April, 2015, he says.

    Don't know what is going on over at M$ but they are really stepping up the releases.
     
  15. dbjungle

    dbjungle DJ Syklone

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    I have Windows 8.1 (and 8 before that); no issues with Studio One. Personally I find 8 to be faster and more stable than 7. I use Stardock Start 8 for normal start menu functionality. Also works fine with League of Legends... #justsayin

    Sent from my LG-E970 using Tapatalk
     
  16. Kopacetic

    Kopacetic Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use Windows 8.1 and haven't got an issue yet. However, there are some plugins that are not compatible with Windows 8, like before, Sylenth1 wasn't compatible until they did their patch update.
     
  17. sonic72

    sonic72 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    48
    I tried it when it first came out and could not get all the plugins to work, so I went back to Win 7. Maybe VSTs are coded better for it now.
     
  18. dbjungle

    dbjungle DJ Syklone

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Houston
    I've had 8 since January 2013 and haven't had any problems.

    Sent from my LG-E970 using Tapatalk
     
  19. Deekay[AUS]

    Deekay[AUS] Buffy's Bedtime Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Well, that was a complete and utter fucking balls up. When I started the install of 8.1 it locked out my hdd. Didn't identify the partitions or anything. Long story short. Lost everything... again. On top of that I had dramas when I did a fresh install of 7, my USB ports weren't active. Cue 3 installs untill I worked out what it was. Turns out some how they got turned off in the BIOS. FML.
     
  20. prettyherb

    prettyherb O I

    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    41
    Location:
    Ghent, Belgium
    If you get 8 get 8.1 cut otherwise u don't have a start button ;). And no complaints about daw crashes it's fine :)