Who's got midi?

Discussion in 'Production' started by RevTech, Dec 25, 2009.

  1. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    I just got midi working recently and I am wondering what I can do best with it.

    I have FL 9 and the MicroKorg as a midi controller
     
  2. boobjunkie

    boobjunkie Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    SW LDN
    i find this post confusing... every computer has midi, it's just a basic format that stores the sequence of notes, their duration and in some cases their timbre & dynamics
     
  3. TripAddict

    TripAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    lots of stuff use midi learn and link to controller

    you can also do this by browsing each plugins parameters
     
  4. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    I have a flstudio template done that has any faders and rotary controllers linked to my most used vst's.
     
  5. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    Some plugin's knobs can't be linked to controller though. Any thoughts? Maybe I need a visual to explain?
     
  6. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    Speaking of that, how DO you make a template like that?
     
  7. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    Any plugins that come built in to FL can be linked by simply right-clicking and selecting "link to controller...". I rarely use those, apart from love philter and fruity verb 2.

    Any 3rd party plugin can do it similiar to automation clips. give a good nippletwist to the parameter and go to plug-in menu and then "link to controller".

    then just move the controller you want to link and youre set.

    Creating templates is a chore but you only have to do it once: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cu4-kfzXYZk
    might be a good link didnt check it out just looked it up
     
  8. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    Very helpful, but it seems the 3rd party knobs can't even be made to automate and such, only some. That's what I get for using free plugins :rolleyes:
     
  9. kama

    kama benkama.net

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    Halfway between the gutter and stars
    also some (all?) dx plugins cant be automated.
     
  10. TongueFlap

    TongueFlap Flappin'

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    8
    we all enjoy a bit of binary
    0001
    0010
    0011
    0100
     
  11. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    I figured out the problem. Click on the top left (usually where the presets are) and click on browse parameters/link all parameters.
     
  12. RevTech

    RevTech Butthole=output transduce

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,657
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    AZ
    010101110101010001000110
     
  13. TripAddict

    TripAddict New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    when i fruity click the control on the vst you want to automate ensure your control surface is selected in the options ... then click the red plugin icon @ the top of your vst goto last tweaked control > link to controller ... then move the control you with to assign it to ... and it should be linked :)

    i use midi on vsts and the mixer panel

    ... would love to know how to map the play button and track seek etc

    i have a UR-80 designed for everything apart from fl lol