Where do I start?

Robb

Hi im completely new to dnb production and ive barely had a play around on fl, it seems very complicated. Whats the best way to start, how do i learn advanced things? and im unsure of the software to use. Any general tips would be awsome cheers.

Tutorials / Trial and Error

the main thing you need to remember is that your not going to go ANYWHERE if your not dedicated enough if you want to learn , you need to also realize that you cant force creativity and that if you don't feel like making something that day then don't.

when i started i looked on youtube for tutorials on what DAW (digital audio workstation) i was using which was fruity loops ,
NFXBEATS
this guy taught me so much

Also it depends who inspires you , listen to their music and listen to the layers its in try and understand what their doing , when and how the music changes and develops.

one more major tip , dont always look at your music

LISTEN TO IT!

i hope that helps buddy

download demos of the most popular software - FL, abelton, reason etc etc
Have a play with them and find which one you can get on with.
then comes the "hard" part - learn how to use them. read a book go through tutorials - use youtube - find out how to do things with that software.
it is going to take a lot of time - be prepared for that.

as a beginner myself, I find there has been nothing more useful than tutorials. Also everyone has their own different ways in making their stuff, for example I do it really slowly, in short spurts, while other people like to sit down and make a tune in hours. Whatever suits you is important