what's Q?

Discussion in 'Production' started by Marc:L, Jun 16, 2008.

  1. Marc:L

    Marc:L Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utrecht, Holland
    A lot of programs are use Q, but what does it? Sometimes i don't hear the difference... Anyone care to explaine to me what it actualy does?

    Many thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2008
  2. evol4276

    evol4276 DIBBA DIBBA!!!*^@%~!

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    i always thought it was the same as resonance.. but hell i culd be wrong
     
  3. JAGZ

    JAGZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,062
    Likes Received:
    41
    me thinks 'quantumize' but not 100% sure, ive seen the 'Q' in cubase's drum & piano roll, is that what your on about?
    respect
     
  4. Marc:L

    Marc:L Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Utrecht, Holland
    yeah, i think so. In LogicPro there are a lot of plug-ins that use it. Mostly in equalizers. Do you know what it does to your sounds?
     
  5. Nutek

    Nutek movement junglist

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Messages:
    4,051
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Umm.. try it out?
     
  6. MARLZTAH

    MARLZTAH ++DuB PrOFesSoR++

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    London
    in a piano roll/sequencer id take a guess at quantization... ive seen it in cubase but never used it

    in EQ's and filters its the bandwidth... high Q = low bandwidth, low Q = high bandwidth

    see the diagram below.....

    notice how the the frequency and gain are the same on both EQ's, only the Q has been changed....

    [​IMG]