What laptop should i buy for using serato?

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by K motion, Mar 24, 2009.

  1. K motion

    K motion Rollin' deep

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2007
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ive got 500 pounds to spend, all the laptops ive been looking at wont run xp which is the most stable operating system for serato apparently. anyone got any ideas?
     
  2. the_voice

    the_voice Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    tamworth/uk
    Serato

    works good on mac
     
  3. Ray Rampage

    Ray Rampage Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2003
    Messages:
    852
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Basildon aka Bas Vegas
    Save for a Mac book, or buy a HP laptop and install XP on it.
     
  4. the_voice

    the_voice Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    tamworth/uk
    ant it slow on xp

    dunno i am a mac man
     
  5. sdm

    sdm This is Dog Fort

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    17
    Serato works fine on a Windows machine. I have a laptop that's a few years old running Windows XP and it works flawlessly both in hot/sweaty clubs and at home.

    Just get the best spec. machine you can with decent components, by that I mean don't buy a cheap brand laptop just for the sake of a slightly bigger disk or more memory.

    Serato seems to run on almost anything I've seen (including netbooks) so any new laptop out there will do the job just fine imo.
     
  6. sdm

    sdm This is Dog Fort

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    17
    Garbage :)
     
  7. the_voice

    the_voice Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    2,961
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    tamworth/uk
    a freind has it
    says its slows but depends what specs are on your pc/laptop
    better specs more better it works
     
  8. sdm

    sdm This is Dog Fort

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2001
    Messages:
    12,757
    Likes Received:
    17
    Of course it depends on specs, put Serato on an old Macbook and it'll be just as bad as an old Windows laptop.

    Like I said previously, I've seen Serato working flawlessly on a £300 netbook so it's requirements aren't high.

    If you want the best out of your Windows install I might suggest looking into "TinyXP".
     
  9. Mish Mash

    Mish Mash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,351
    Likes Received:
    34
    Location:
    Kingston
    it depends how you use serato. if your gunna be using all the effects and stuff you'll need a much faster laptop than if you use it just to play the music. I use traktor scratch (which is much better cos you can use 3 decks!) on a £600 dell laptop running vista and the cpu level never goes above about 10%. and it helps to get loads of RAM
     
  10. D-Tektiv

    D-Tektiv Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,540
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Brandon, Florida
    I've got an IBM Thinkpad, it runs windows xp..never really asked my friends what laptops they're usin' for serratto though, or i'd be more help..pz
     
  11. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    What sdm said.
     
  12. djflicky

    djflicky Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2,595
    Likes Received:
    58
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    what riisu said!! im really intriged about serato i dont fully understand the ins and outs
     
  13. robhicks1

    robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ive got a £450 Fujitsu Siemens laptop running Traktor scratch.
    After a little tweaking (Changing battery settings, getting rid of screansavers and raising the latency slightly) it runs fine and it takes way more processing power than Serato so for £500 you will be able to get a really good computer to run it. You don't need to run XP either. It is more stable than Vista but I am running Vista and don't seem to have many problems.
     
  14. roo

    roo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    10
    serato is based on itunes design, so a mac is good, i used one for ages, but just got a new dell blaptop for £220, using it through vista, took a while to sort out the bugs, blue screens etc, now it works like a dream, plus with all the updates that come out i say go for something with vista. or just save up and get a macbookpro.
     
  15. youarecosmic

    youarecosmic Monster

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lostwithiel
    The minimum operating system requirements for Serato Scratch Live are:
    Mac

    * 1 GHz G4
    * 1 GB RAM
    * 1024 x 768 minimum screen resolution
    * OSX 10.3.9 or higher
    * Intel Macs require Scratch Live version 1.5 or higher

    Windows

    * 1.5 GHz PC
    * 1 GB RAM
    * 1024 x 768 minimum screen resolution
    * Windows XP with Service Pack 2 or higher
    * Windows Vista requires Versions 1.7.2 or higher
    * Windows Vista 64-bit requires Versions 1.8.2 or higher
    * Note that we recommend Windows XP over Vista for performance reasons. By using XP, you can have a lower latency (for a better vinyl feel) and better performance in general.

    macs are nice to look at but they are stupidly overpriced compared to the spec you could get on a windows lappy.
     
  16. ScottyEightSix

    ScottyEightSix HUGE EARS > COMEDY CHIN

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    13,062
    Likes Received:
    624
    Location:
    CHINFORD
    Buy a decent brand laptop rather than going for cheap brands with large amounts of RAM etc... I got a toshiba for like £350 and it was pretty slow, but I took it to a shop an got a extra gig of ram put in an now its fast as fuck
     
  17. DJ TANC

    DJ TANC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
  18. DJ TANC

    DJ TANC Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manchester
    This is a fair point... Mac book will set you back... especially if you are only going to use it for storing music..

    But I'm a Mac user so ....:rolleyes:
     
  19. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    don't listen to this gypsie. he talks the talk, but he don't walk the walk, ya dig.
     
  20. Fes Rock

    Fes Rock Nothing..........

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    15,258
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    U WOT M8?
    I prefer mac, as thats what i run on. But they do cost. Best thing to do is watch apples website for refirbs. they pop up new ones everyday and there always basically brand new