What Freq. do I cut my bass at?

Discussion in 'Production' started by JungleFever, Apr 17, 2011.

  1. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    Yo,

    I been experimenting with bass and bouncing it as a sample then duplicating it then cutting the freq with eq just wonderin if any one knows the exact (or roughly) where to cut the bass in the low/ mids/ highs

    cheers
     
  2. chromey

    chromey a.k.a Impact

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    if ya bouncing samples for further use in a vareity of tunes- CUT/BOOST NOTHING!
    Leave the orignal full range

    then cut/boost etc when used in a tune as you'll need the context of the other supporting samples to make the right judgement as to what to cut, how much, and where. I predict it will be different for evey tune you make pretty much :)
     
  3. StrifeII

    StrifeII Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham
    You mean to add inserts etc to seperate frequency bands? You can cut them without exporting using group channels as far as I know. As for ranges, if I were splitting into 3, I'd cut the bass around 200hz, midrange up to 5k and the rest treble...4 bands would work better though. low, low mid, high mid and high.
     
  4. luciduk

    luciduk Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,644
    Likes Received:
    5
    right, as far as i was aware, the idea for resampling is to apply processing before bouncing, so that it saves CPU and frees up your rack??
     
  5. StrifeII

    StrifeII Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Birmingham
    yeah but at the very end mate - bounce your full bass track with all processors and effects on to use it as just an audio track.
     
  6. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    yep definitly, EQ all the way, and carefully compress aswell, so you have as much space as possible, to fill with Filth
     
  7. chromey

    chromey a.k.a Impact

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Nottingham
    ah think I've gone off on a tangent here ..
    imo for resampling in general - process away..
    BUT my point was more about pre-EQing those results... and to be careful cutting etc before the fact.
    My CPU takes such a small knock when using EQ that I use full range sources and cut as required on a per track basis.
    It means I have maximum choice for minimal work.
    I can have the same source EQ'd loads of different ways inside the track via eq inserts for different uses/sounds etc..
    Theres a million ways to resample/work with those results..

    what I should have said in my first reply to JF was: if you are creating a double layered bass- dont ask where to cut without telling us what sound ya trying to achieve :)

    ---------- Post added at 15:33 ---------- Previous post was at 15:33 ----------

    yeah I often split my basses to process each band seperately... get some interesting results that way..
    its not the only way tho ;)