Warning: "Jetgroove.com" is not legal --- 7 steps to save the record industry

Warning: "Jetgroove.com" is not legal --- 7 steps to save the record industry
After Kazaa, there is a new threat to artists, and it is in websites like jetgroove.com.

There is only one way to save us from this threat; through awareness.

7 steps to save the independent record industry :

I - Everybody have to be aware that the Russian based company “JetGroove”, www.jetgroove.com is selling music illegally.
Even though Ulukman Mamytov, JetGroove legal department's spokesman, states on their website JetGroove signed license agreements with all the labels sold on its site, this is a false information and it is mistaking the customer.

II- They are selling music downloaded from Kazaa and other P2P networks:
To build up their music library of music files, they downloaded them from P2P networks and then re-encoded them.

III - JetGroove is not British, but a Russian company:
a- They are renting a British address in London at "Douglas Company Services", http://www.douglas-cs.co.uk/, to show they are legit and an English company.
The address provided by Douglas Company Services is:
Regent House,
316 Beulah Hill,
London SE19 3HF,
United Kingdom
It's exactly the address of the JetGroove offices you can find on their website.
b- Their phone number in Moscow is +7 095 730 8046
c- One of their sub domain name is: ru.corp.jetgroove.com , as "ru" for "Russia"
d- Some other contacts of JetGroove: Alena Chakhnazarova, Ilya Basalaev (very English isn't it?)

IV - Record Industry Associations around the word are preparing to sue them:
Yes..., why ? Just because, not only being happy about selling illegal content from small independent labels, they decided to sell music from major companies such as Madonna, Britney Spears and so-on... They are very angry.
So be really careful with your music: if you feel your music is sold there illegally, first contact your label manager then your local Recording Association as soon as possible, or contact the IFPI (International Federation of the Phonographic Industry) http://www.ifpi.org/

V - Their website has been built by the following Russian webdesign company http://www.suponix.com which is using the same tricks as JetGroove to fool people on where they come from. They are a Russian company from Odessa, Russia, and try to show they are American.

VI - You can find more info here:

VII - Be aware that there is a rumour of scam for credit card details.

So to help save the independent record industry make people aware of this new kind of threat, we have to


read about this few days ago on biscuitmonsters, they've been ripping off unreleased hardcore tracks, as well as a load of stuff lost in the alpha magic fiasco.

Hope the lawyers get to em quickly, its one thing downloading music off kazaa etc for free but charging people like that, just aint on !

Just got this POS from there site in case ppl aint seen it

October 9, 2004
Tuesday this week October 5th JetGroove the biggest on-line underground music provider has launched its website. On the website it offers alternative music downloads in mp3 format made by independent record labels and artists.

During first three days JetGroove received an enormous amount of attention from users, record labels, artists, authors and publishers. And this attention brought some contradictions to the light of music community. The music community was disappointed at some parts of our website and made some wrong assumptions. We wanted to clear up all misunderstandings that arose so we want to explain our position how our website is organized and business is led.

JetGroove is the unique project that we created to give the worldwide exposure to independent record labels and artists, producing alternative music. The way our website organized is:

First part of the website - music, that is represented by record labels who already signed contracts with JetGroove. These tracks are available to be purchased and downloaded.
Second part of the website - information about music that is placed on the website for promotion of independent record labels and artists. These "tracks" could not be purchased or downloaded. However they could be put ON HOLD. As soon as this happens, record label or artist to whom this track belongs is contacted with the offer of doing business with JetGroove. This greatly increases the exposure for many of the record labels. The line that JetGroove is going to continue to follow is: LEGAL SALES ONLY. The project was created to give independents a good chance of being known in the world, and earning money, not to make them suffer again as they do from p2p systems. And the least thing JetGroove planned to do is to violate rights of record labels, publishers, artists or authors. JetGroove officially states that if you are not interested to have your tracks on www.jetgroove.com, you should contact JetGroove immediately and all the information we have about your tracks will be taken off the website ASAP. Welcome to JetGroove where Grooving is Living
Last edited: