VST Plug ins to Logic

Discussion in 'Production' started by DJ SAMAD, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. DJ SAMAD

    DJ SAMAD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi does any one know if there is a program that can transfer vst plugins to av so they could be used with logic ?
     
  2. standard_proc

    standard_proc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    no, logic uses a proprietrty plugin system, called audio units. These are apples alternative to VST's. You must check to see if there is a Logic Audio Unit availalble of the synth you are after. I know that most of the popular synth makers have vst and audio unit flavours of there synths.
     
  3. perspective

    perspective Sex Drugs & Sausage Rolls

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    there are wrappers available to use vsts as aus, you just have to search
     
  4. standard_proc

    standard_proc Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    didn't know that! nice one.
     
  5. DJ SAMAD

    DJ SAMAD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    nice one will do!
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2009
  6. The Hex

    The Hex Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    careful tho. i hear those wrappers sometimes cause crashes. :twitchy:
     
  7. DJ SAMAD

    DJ SAMAD New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does the program have to be installed on your computer when your using the plugin or is it just a conversion tool ?
    safe guys
     
  8. dubco

    dubco Dubco

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    paris
    FXPansion makes a program called VST to AU Adapter for Mav OS X. Not the most stable of units but a decent hand for those of you who are tired of changing between OS just to keep in use those old windows VST's. Seems to work ok on my system using Logic Pro, is very tough on resource however.
    Mac needs to get with the VSTs already. Im sure by the next new animal Mac releases will come equipped with the ability to share plugins.
    That is my dream at least.


    Rereleased ambient breaks________________