Vdj with timecode set up problems

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by Disturbd, Apr 27, 2013.

  1. Disturbd

    Disturbd Winter is here!!!

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    180
    Location:
    uk
    I had a pair of Stanton Direct Drives and a herc mixer with vdj setup with timecodes and the herc mixer died so I bought a normal mixer thought I'd go the full haul and get some 1210mk2 and a Maya 44 soundcard to use the timecodes since I've got it all up and running I can't seem to keep a mix in now and its taking ages for the pitch to move up and down when I'm adjusting it so by the time I've got it sounding in pitch it seems to be moving any ideas
    Please someone help
     
  2. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Highly recomend longing off VDJ and getting something like iscratch Mixlive, cant stress enough how sick of a budget dvs it is (approx £50). Wayyyyy back i tried to get timecodes working on vdj...think that was the last time i used it. Pile of shit.
     
  3. D-Jhepz

    D-Jhepz ◕‿◕

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    ╭∩╮(︶︿︶)
    whats this iscratch mixlive you speak of? would it work with cdjs and such... cos im getting pretty bored of burning cds all the time

    - - - Updated - - -

    no it doesnt work with cdjs :/ would else is there that doesnt cost bare too much money
     
  4. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Yep it does mate. Comes with 2 control cd's. Used em on my mates denon's and my other mates cdj1000's.
     
  5. Shatner's Bosom

    Shatner's Bosom murder TANMUSHIMUSHI

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Hummus
    buy once, buy serato/traktor
     
  6. D-Jhepz

    D-Jhepz ◕‿◕

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    ╭∩╮(︶︿︶)
    a large price difference.....
     
  7. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Not true when your looking for something a fraction of the price. I have serato Sl4 now, but when i couldnt afford it iscratch was sick for the £40 i paid.. As opposed to the £700 for sl4.. lol.
     
  8. Shatner's Bosom

    Shatner's Bosom murder TANMUSHIMUSHI

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Hummus
    Yeah fair enough, 40 quid isn't too much to worry about wasting but it can't be anywhere near as good as sl1 even
     
  9. D-Jhepz

    D-Jhepz ◕‿◕

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    ╭∩╮(︶︿︶)
    consider im no professional and will only ever use it when i cba to burn cds... alllow 700 quid for laziness
     
  10. Shatner's Bosom

    Shatner's Bosom murder TANMUSHIMUSHI

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Hummus
    Each to their own, but it does make everything much easier, burning CDs is the worst thing ever
     
  11. D-Jhepz

    D-Jhepz ◕‿◕

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    ╭∩╮(︶︿︶)
  12. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    I challenge you to find a decent dvs for less than that lol.

    Its perfectly fine man, little to no latency, user interface cant be faulted, and the price is sick.

    When ive got into bad financial trouble ive considered selling sl4 and getting iscratch again lol.
     
  13. Shatner's Bosom

    Shatner's Bosom murder TANMUSHIMUSHI

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2012
    Messages:
    4,833
    Likes Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    Hummus
    Just seems strange that ive never heard of it or seen it if its any good
     
  14. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Basically back when i first started wanting to buy a DVS i couldnt afford serato, so started googling around for budget alternatives. Checked out youtube reviews on it, then hopped on whybuynew and found it for £40. It did the job perfectly, only reason why i flogged it and got serato is because i was financing a xone 92 anyway so financed sl4 and the 92 together.

    It absolutely demolishes the maya + vdj "solution", and isnt far off traktor/serato imo.

    If you could use iscratch with the serato software i probably wouldnt have got sl4 haha.
     
  15. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
  16. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
  17. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    ha, fair enough, cant beat that!

    I was gonna mention the soundcard, as its that what youre essentially paying for. The same goes for both Traktor and serato, the majority of the investment with any DVS is the soundcard itself.

    I do think that the aforementioned heavyweights do have some great hardware and it is worth the asking price to get good DAC's for a live situation, I wouldn't argue with home use, but if you want your music to sound the best that it can do, go pro.
     
  18. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Well considering the serato software is free, 100% of the investment is the soundcard lol.

    Yeah i agree totally, but we're talking about budget alternatives, and with budget alternatives there is going to be some sacrifice. Personally i couldnt see much of a sacrifice at all when i used iscratch, it worked perfectly.

    But i agree, havent looked back since getting serato :).
     
  19. D-Jhepz

    D-Jhepz ◕‿◕

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    ╭∩╮(︶︿︶)
    my cdjs have midi out... could i get serato for free then use midi out for an hid connection?
     
  20. Forau

    Forau CONCUSSION RECS

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,799
    Likes Received:
    262
    Location:
    Room 2 @ Fabric
    Havent got a clue mate. Not a cdj man.

    I remember trying to get HID working on my pals cdj2000's last year and it just wasnt having it lol.


    We've seriously hijacked this poor fella's thread by the way lol.

    My final thoughts for OP: Dont use VDJ.