Using serato and vinyls??

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by DJError, Apr 4, 2012.

  1. DJError

    DJError AKA Error

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Im gonna be doing a B2B with someone who uses serato but im using vinyl, I have never used the program or seen the set up to understand how its all connected, all i know is that you have the serato box which is connected to the mixer and a laptop

    I just want to know if its easy to set up so that i can use my vinyls and he can use his serato just switching back and forth depening on whos playing?
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2012
  2. ilovelondon

    ilovelondon Call me Jens.

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,629
    Likes Received:
    28
    Location:
    Belgium
    Switch from line to phono on the mixer when you take over the channel, easy as that.
     
  3. djalta

    djalta Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dorking
    Watch you're levels, I use SL1 and it's a lot quieter than vinyl.
     
  4. DJError

    DJError AKA Error

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    941
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    nice one no fucking about then, but does it always have to be set up this way? i wont have to make sure hes got certain leads in or anything?
     
  5. Scaramanga

    Scaramanga Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hull
    All you have to do is select the THRU button in Scratch Live above each of the decks.
     
  6. Dead Cosmonaut

    Dead Cosmonaut Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Isn't this the way you run vinyl through Traktor? I think serato only has one input that goes into line. I think you have to put it on a thru function in the software.
     
  7. nelsonr

    nelsonr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Brighton
    yup.

    this is how i normally switch between vinyl and serato when me and my housemates use both

    you have to put the gain up a bit tho as the vinyl is quieter
     
  8. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,306
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London
    +1

    As with SL3's. It's a format issue although boy do I get trolled if I mention it.
     
  9. WhoSayReload?

    WhoSayReload? Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,498
    Likes Received:
    233
    Location:
    Northampton
    yeah thru from the box to phono is the one I'm sure, should run smooth. Then switch from phono for vinyl to line for dem computer muiziks (from the mixer)
     
  10. danwell

    danwell BAAAAAAAAAAAAABE WAIT

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,630
    Likes Received:
    711
    Just use cds
     
  11. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    Multicore cables are the DVS DJ's best friend. No matter what software you use get them:

    [video=youtube_share;NZXrO_kEy6A]http://youtu.be/NZXrO_kEy6A[/video]
     
  12. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    used to play with someone on serato. u just click button on the interface on whoevers laptop it is and it switches to vinyl. you will know if you havent done it as it will make horrible fuzzy sound in your ear!
     
  13. t345e

    t345e Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    122
    Location:
    Bristol
    switch from line to phone man, easy as that, do it all the time.
     
  14. hazdaman100

    hazdaman100 Bum 'n Face

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    4,725
    Likes Received:
    92
    Location:
    Uk

    $75 though!
    Rather press the phono switch