Using chopped loops from Recycle in Renoise...

willgripp

Hoping you can help me!
I am looking to use recycle to chop breaks before porting the chopped breaks into renoise.
I have been following this youtube tutorial - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0S8iig ... 5brLMWdX43
I find it all goes wrong after I use the midi file in renoise; the break is there but all instruments in pattern editor remain as 00.
The ultimate aim is to familiarise myself with different breaks (and then use functions such as randomise) without having to manually assign all the different hits of the break.
I am new to both programs -
Any help is much appreciated - Will

The MIDI file probably misdistributed the samples over the piano grid, try to look into that and drag them to the right place.
But seriously, Renoise itself can auto slice breaks just as well as Recycle as far as I know, so why not skip Recycle all together and save yourself the hassle?

Last edited:
Thanks for the reply!
Half the aim is for the hits to be put in renoise in the correct positions of the break; I hope that this will allow me to familiarise myself with the construction of different breaks. As far as I can tell renoise will assign hits to keys but not plot their original positions in the break?

what, it does that? renoise slices, like auto slices? fuck i thought that thing was a one channel mono 3 bit FM app, i had no idea. really openend my eyes.

recycle does happen to have the best transient designer in the business outside of hardware, so there is a good reason to check it out, and not only for attack, for sustain and its got exciter and EQ so you can really get some weight out of it, plus its stand alone, or was, 2006 which is the last time i gave a fk about that

Am headed in the right direction!
I can now use renoise to slice beat and assign hits to keyboard; I just can't get the hits into pattern editor with original spacing...
Have been trying to destructively render slices with no joy...