Using an LCD hd tv instead of a monitor, good or bad idea?

mr meh

Well-Known Member
VIP Junglist
Joined
Oct 17, 2010
Location
Hull, UK
So I could well do with a new monitor for my pc, i notice that 22" monitors and lcd hd tv's are around the same price and both have 1920 x 1080 resolution, and also i can watch tv in bed on it!

Is there any good reason why i shouldnt get a tv instead of a monitor?
 

AudioRuso

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Location
Lynnwood, WA
I would never use a LCD tv to sub for a monitor. There are plenty of very good large format displays for a good price. Here's one that looks terrific and is a great size: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824176141

The reason you don't want to do this is because unlike a monitor (close range device) a tv will have larger sized pixels. Although you could get away with doing this I think it's a hit and miss deal. Same reason you don't go and bust out some home theater speakers for studio monitors.
 

muzzadj

Well-Known Member
VIP Junglist
Joined
Dec 29, 2007
Location
Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
Yeah man good idea! Ive got a 37" Full HD one as mine..



I do now wear glasses though lol
 

Freek

Lets get freeeeeeky
VIP Junglist
Joined
Nov 9, 2008
Location
Kent, UK
i use my 32" hd tv as my monitor. graffix card got HD out so i just use that to connect it all up.
 

ARTFX

Artist, sound designer and tutor
VIP Junglist
Joined
May 3, 2009
Location
Rotterdam, NL
Why not, will work good I think.
Don't need it since I've got an HD monitor which has the same size as my TV.
 

Krispy

Active Member
VIP Junglist
Joined
Nov 26, 2009
Location
Alberta, Canada
I love using my 46" TV as a monitor
It allows me to sit back on the couch and watch movies and stuff or work on things from a distance
Just get a wireless keyboard and mouse and you are in business!

My tv runs at a very high resolution and pixels are definitely not a problem
It looks fantastic
 

RevTech

Butthole=output transduce
VIP Junglist
Joined
Aug 19, 2008
Location
AZ
Don't see anything wrong with it, I use it and it's working like a charm
 
Top Bottom