Turntable channel louder than CDJ's

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by Code:Red, Sep 20, 2009.

  1. Code:Red

    Code:Red Defiant

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bicester/Oxford
    Hey, i've got 2 stanton c.324's on channel 1 and 2 of my mixer, and on channel 3 i have a stanton t.60 turntable, and the sound difference between the cdj's and the turntable is very different. does anyone no how to equal the sound levels? thanks
     
  2. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    adjust the gain so its the same level ? or am i missing something here :p
     
  3. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Gain control, should be the first control on the channel strip (highest one up). Might be labeled "trim".
     
  4. Code:Red

    Code:Red Defiant

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bicester/Oxford
    ye i put the gain to the lowest it can go, and its still louder than when i have the cdj's gain high...
     
  5. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    You made sure the CDjs are in a line input and the turntables in a phono?
     
  6. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,765
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    this might be way off but i remember somebody had a similar problem and had the cdjs plugged into phono whereas you want them plugged into line.. ( this may be completely irrelevant ) is there a gain on the cdj?
     
  7. Code:Red

    Code:Red Defiant

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bicester/Oxford
    yee both cdj's are plugged into line and the turntable is plugged into phono
     
  8. motion audio

    motion audio Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,150
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Northampton
    Only other basic thing I can think of then is if theres a selector switch on the channels of your mixer to switch between Line and Phono inputs then that may be set wrong, apart from that its unlikely to be something simple!
     
  9. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,246
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    if you really cant sort it, try a program called 'mp3 gain' (google it) to lower the volume of your mp3's and then try it.
     
  10. Code:Red

    Code:Red Defiant

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2009
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Bicester/Oxford
    ye alright mate, thanks! i'll give it a go and see what happens