tune mastering nightmare!

Discussion in 'Production' started by Darth Sidious, Feb 25, 2010.

1. Darth Sidious

Darth Sidious bloody ear abuse

Hi, Im fairly new to music production, just made my first few dnb tunes. I started off using FL studio which I thought was wicked and am now using Reason just because I wanna try different software out to see which is for me.I also have used cubase a bit. Im loving Reason but am having a bit of a nightmare mastering my tune. was thinking of maybe rewiring it into fruity loops or cubase or maybe doing it in adobe Audition. does anyone have any suggestions?

cheers

2. Riisu

Riisu Not the Preacher Man

A question..... Why do you want to master your own tune?

3. T:M

T:M Dusty Techno Workout

I think you have mastering confused with mixdown.

4. Darth Sidious

maybe I do mean mixdown then, basically Ive got my track constructed but cant get it sounding the way I want. When I was using fruity loops I managed to get the end song sounding alot better.perhaps its just my inexperience with reason.

5. Darth Sidious

well I know alot of people dont master their own tracks and send them to be mastered and maybe Ill discover thats the way to go but its something Id like to learn about nonetheless.

6. Darth Sidious

maybe I do mean mixdown then, basically Ive got my track constructed but cant get it sounding the way I want. When I was using fruity loops I managed to get the end song sounding alot better.perhaps its just my inexperience with reason.

7. Riisu

You're talking about mixdown more than anything, by the sounds of things.

Best thing to do is just make more tracks and you'll gain more experience in mixing.
    Another idea is to get a batch (of say 5) tunes 'complete' and spend a weekend mixing them down. By the end of it you should have a pretty good idea of how to approach things in the future (y)