Trying to bounce down a sound that's being sent to multiple busses (logic)

Discussion in 'Production' started by Eskei, Aug 9, 2013.

  1. Eskei

    Eskei Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    9
    Easy all

    So I've made a bass sound in Massive which I've then sent to 3 busses (sub, low mid, high mid), those 3 busses are then routed to a 4th buss with a some more plugins. How do I go about bouncing down the final sound from bus 4? I feel like this should be something really simple I've somehow glossed over...

    Cheers
     
  2. Riisu

    Riisu Not the Preacher Man

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    7,307
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Hornchurch
    Solo bus 4 and bounce?
     
  3. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    if bouncing doesnt work for your setup, then route your 4th Bus to a recordable audio channel and record it in real time (might want to check your DAW record settings are set to at least 24bit 96khz)
     
  4. D-Jhepz

    D-Jhepz ◕‿◕

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,196
    Likes Received:
    253
    Location:
    ╭∩╮(︶︿︶)
  5. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    358
    Location:
    London
    switch to ableton and use groups, they are like turbo charged busses, with no faffing about :)



    Busses are simply a channel with other channels routed into them - the one you will be most familiar with is the Master output AKA Master Bus, which combines all your channels into a pair/stereo channel

    The issue of bouncing the bus channels comes because some DAWs are not very sensible in their SOLO options, when you bounce a channel it tries to solo it and record it, which in some cases means the inputs into the bus are disabled, the best bet, if your daw doesnt offer the option of bouncing a bus, is to record it live, set the Monitor of the bus channel to IN (rather than Auto, or Out, or whatever other options you may have), arm the channel by hitting its Record Arm button, then hit record in your DAW, this will record an Audio clip of whatever is going into the bus - once you are finished, reset the Monitor to Auto or whatever it was set to, and then drag the audio clip to a new channel, or leave it in place, depending on what you need from the bus
     
    Skuff likes this.
  6. padders

    padders Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    8

    This and if this doesn't work you probably haven't routed them right. Are you routing them via sends or by changing the to output to bus four? If its former some of the sound will still be going to the main output. If you still can't get it to work solo the three basses and buses and then bounce.
     
  7. Fluff

    Fluff Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Bristol
    Just solo the track with Massive on it track and then bounce the section (make sure the bypass effects option is switched off).
     
  8. aw08

    aw08 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    13
    I had this problem, you just need to get used to how it works:

    If you have multiple tracks going to one bus or the same busses it will bounce the regions to a new track which has the same sends as the original track

    If you have multiple tracks with different sends, it will bounce the regions to a new track without any sends and will not apply the effects of the sends

    Best way to get around this is to solo the tracks you want to bounce and bounce your track to a WAV file for the section you want, then reimport the audio file...this will have all the effects of each bus applied.

    Im yet to try the groups in Logic X but I'm guessing they might be capable of this.
     
  9. ApeCat

    ApeCat Human Dubplate

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,934
    Likes Received:
    134
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    Mute everything but Massive, render as audio.

    Save tune, delete everything but Massive, render as audio, reload project, "Don't Save", load rendered audio into project.

    ?
     
  10. JimpaDirt

    JimpaDirt Vettvilling

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    68
    Location:
    A galaxy far, far away
    When I want to bounce something with the buses in logic, I just solo the track's and the bus(es). And just do a regular bounce to the project folder. Then it's just to import the audio from the folder and there you have it!