trouble setting my decks up!!

Discussion in 'Production' started by JungleFever, Dec 25, 2008.

  1. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    basicly just brought some stanton t62's with a kool sound mixer.. but the instructions are proper wank!!
    also wondering if you need an amp nd speakers if you have headphones? can u just plug the head phones in the mixer nd be done?

    cheers
     
  2. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Decks to Mixer.. Mixer to Amp.. Amp to Speakers.. Speakers to SICKNESS!

    and yes.. Headphones to Mixer aswell.. Also if you have monitor speakers they power themselves so dont need an amp!

    Hope this helps matey
     
  3. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. JungleFever

    JungleFever Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    kent
    so you can plug you headphones in with out fuckin about with amps?
     
  5. mikeOO1

    mikeOO1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah as you said......../........ but ....... if you dont have good headfones everything is severely compromized!
     
  6. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    oh right yeah.. you can have 2 decks and a mixer.. and mix in headphones if thats what you mean

    I do it late at night when the old dears are in bed lol
     
  7. rainey

    rainey Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    not much fun in just mixing in your headphones
     
  8. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    yeah obv its got nothing on mixing normally lol, but when i cant have a phat rinse, its nice 2 just have a lil chilled one in the headphones.. dont get me wrong though.. still gets me brockin!! Must look like such a twat tho dancing like a muppet with just headphones on hahaha
     
  9. Blurr

    Blurr Wasted Selection

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,026
    Likes Received:
    3
  10. Zeal

    Zeal Ohm/C2D/Dark Asylum/Ennex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    20
    Just think of conecting everything as a circle, all has to work around.

    Like said, from the decks > mixer > amp or stereo > speakers BOOM!
    If you do it with just ur headphones wont be as good plus u will obviously hear urself cueing it up!
     
  11. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    yeah i wouldnt recommend doing it unless you can get a beat matched pretty quickly otherwise it is like listening to death take a piss on your face
     
  12. DJHaze

    DJHaze I've been naughty, I'm banned

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Birmingham
    hahah or 2 sets of headphones...
     
  13. tolley1466

    tolley1466 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Depending if they are active speakers then this is true.
    If they are passive speakers, you will need a power amp.