Travelling

Discussion in 'Waffle' started by Time Dependant, Sep 5, 2004.

1. Time Dependant

Time Dependant Jungle Hunter

Easy all, I'm having a few thoughts about breaking away from it all for a year & going travelling. Problem is I've never done this before so I'm hoping the forum heads can give some helping tips into these main things:

The Essentials - What are the bare essentials I need to take to survive

Locations- I've got a few down on paper but would like some recommendations of great places you all been or know are worth checking.

Money - Always comes into conversations, so what's the ideal amount to take.

Work - Is it worth working while I'm away?

Cheers people hope to hear some good responses.

2. moriaty

moriaty Active Member

Before asking people to suggest Laos or the Phi Phi islands, you need to sort out your budget. Coz badly planned expenses, will end your trip in Cornwall, having to suck off passers by for a train ticket.
    Also, ya need to think of how far you wanna get? cause a Europe trip and a tour of the Philipines is a whole diff matter.

Now..
    working abroad isnt the best idea really. I guess you live in England, and tbh, you aint gonna find a place that pays better money for simple jobs. You much better off working your ass here, and spendin the mighty British Pound abroad. Plus, if going outside the EU, youll be needin to get workin visas, which is quite a husle, and usualy it costs a bit too, in contrast to free tourist visas.
    For bare essentials, the only thing i can think of, is some good company. Travelling alone can be fun, but its always better to have someone to get wasted with, laught at, or lend a buck from...Bit of warning here tho, make sure thats someone you defo get along with. Theres nothing worse than to fall out with a mate when away. Youll just spend the rest of your holidays not talking to each other, and/or whingin to your other mates about him...

have fun, and by the way: