Transpose/pitching

Discussion in 'Production' started by kieran t, Jan 20, 2014.

  1. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    Just wondered if there is a way of pitching a kick up 2 semi tones or where ever you want it without the pitch going higher or it's tone changing if you will?
    So it sits higher frequency but keeps its original sound.

    Sounds impossible but I know there are programs like ez dj where you can speed tracks up to stupid speed but it stays in original key / pitch.

    Also having a few issues making my breaks gel any tips would be appreciated
     
  2. rysk

    rysk Part-time waster

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    7,231
    Likes Received:
    747
    Location:
    Herts, UK
    so you want to change the pitch without changing the pitch?

    yeah... what?


    you can change the speed without changing the pitch, if that's what you mean.
     
  3. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    Yeah it's stupid lol but I think I will need a different sample coz it looses the sound what I want from the sample when it's pitched.

    Not the best explanation ever lol
     
  4. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,090
    Likes Received:
    888
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    You're trying to bypass the whole kick and sub problems frequency clash, aren't you?
     
  5. smoothassilk

    smoothassilk Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    155
    Only thing that helps is sidechaining and eq.
    In response to your original question, you can change the pitch without changing the speed, or you can change the speed without changing the pitch, or both, but it will always sound different.
     
  6. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    Yes and yes lol
    I think I've overworked my brain today gonna call it a day. Get back on t tomorrow :)
    Cheers
     
  7. DYSRUPT

    DYSRUPT Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    MA.
    Change the sample. You can force it into place to a certain degree, but after a few hours of trying to get the kick to sit with the sub, id change the sample.
     
  8. Mason John

    Mason John 21st Junta

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Norfolk, Virginia, United States
    Ehh...uhh.....ehrmmm......hmmmmm.....tempo adjust and speed adjust? It's always gonna sound a little different when you shift a sample up or down semitones, man.
     
  9. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    Yeah I know that lol was just wondering if there was a way of keeping the sound like it said it sounds impossible.
    Had to change sample then I fucked the tune off once again!
    Sick of restarting I get so far then back to the beginning. :(
     
  10. Mason John

    Mason John 21st Junta

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Norfolk, Virginia, United States
    ^ What sampler do you use? I've been pretty dirt-cheap in regards production tools so far (but do plan to splurge on some serious stuff, mainly hardware, when the time's good for it) so I've gotten a decent eye for cheap/free plug-ins that are worth using.

    Been using a sampler called ShortCircuit for a while now, it's god-like. Dunno if it'll resolve your issue but it's worked good for my drum samples and that's with pitching in the sampler itself. It's from the same people who worked on some of Albeton's features even, so it's pretty quality. Try Googling it :)
     
  11. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    I use logic so either the ultrabeat or the exs
    Will check that one out man!
    Dont think I could ever resolve that problem the way I asked in this post pretty much a pissing in the wind question ha
    Change sample is the only way really
     
  12. spyre

    spyre sample all the things

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    60
    Location:
    NZ
    Did you try putting the transient on its own track then just pitching down the tail?
     
  13. Serum

    Serum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2002
    Messages:
    2,090
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    London
    If a kick or snare clashes with a sub or any other sound it's always worth trying to flip the phase. Sometimes that sorts it out. It's just a press of a button on a Cubase channel.
     
  14. Dark Lizardro

    Dark Lizardro The Lizard that has a hammer Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2013
    Messages:
    4,090
    Likes Received:
    888
    Location:
    São Paulo, Brazil
    Holy crap, man. Just EQ the god damn kick. :teeth:
     
  15. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    fuck doing tht man lol
    i dont really mess to much with kicks anymore i just leave the kick as it is or change sample, i was using the kicks synths plugin by computer music a few months ago and got good results i like it as you have good control

    hahaha if only it was just a case of eq and away you go , not always the case
     
  16. Mason John

    Mason John 21st Junta

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2013
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Norfolk, Virginia, United States
    Yeah, it always helps to have a sample that's mostly the way you're picturing it for your track. The less EQ/compress/effect/layering the better, tho for really good kicks you'll usually have to do some combination of at least half those (layering almost always).

    To answer your question tho: I'll say that, so far for what I've been doing, it works very well affecting pitch while keeping the tempo and speed the same as the original. Must be an algorithm thing. The really neat thing about the program is you can chain up to two "filters" (mix of filters and effects) per sample, and layer multiple different samples to the same key or keyrange or the same sample w/ different settings per copy.

    There are also LFO envelopes and ways to route modulation per sample's filters (and you can group the samples too)....all in all really fuckin' powerful program for free.
     
  17. sonic72

    sonic72 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    48
    sounds like you have the right kick but the wrong bass?