Traktor Vinyl Control Users..

Discussion in 'Drum & Bass' started by hyperd4eva, Sep 25, 2014.

  1. hyperd4eva

    hyperd4eva H&M SCARVES

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,486
    Likes Received:
    466
    Tried to use traktor timecode on vinyl at a club for the first time and had so many issues with the Technics, the phono's on one technic kept on saying right channel was missing and was making traktor shit itself. the tune was playing backwards and allsorts.

    Is there anyway around this? I hate the thought of using this out without knowing the outcome! funny thing is I have used vinyl on these technics so many times without problems. So its almost like traktor is less reliable than playing vinyl which cancels the whole point of buying it in the first place.

    I was advised to use multicore cables instead but im failing to see how this will ever make a difference, it almost seems like a complete waste of time to even bother trying to use it out if the technics you need to use have to be well serviced and have decent RCA's.

    Basically the point is if it is not something that native instruments have addressed for turntable users then im selling it and getting CDJ's as it is just too unreliable and a waste of time.

    I know the tone arm can play a part in this also, even needles.

    very frutsrating.
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014
  2. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Analogue signal can get worse without noticing it whereas the Traktor will becuase it needs to be to calibratde with the timecode, hence why if the signal isnt strong enough it won't read the deck properly and do all that weird shit. I think its a FUCKING shit system because every club will have something dodgy in the setup so when there is so many connections that have to be 100% to get it work, then that's crap.

    You basically would have to keep your calibration windows open, leave the timecode spinning and keep wiggling the connections, even lick the back of the needles if shit gets desperate, until you get a decent circle.

    Traktor is sick when it works but literally the biggest cunt when it doesn't. Getting ready to jump on the decks is stressful/nervous enough not having to deal with all that potential bollocks.

    CDJs - End
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014
  3. iamdjsimm

    iamdjsimm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    How are you setting up without multi core if you don't mind me asking? I used timecoded vinyl & cd's for a couple of years a while back and used the standard multi core when doing so. Not sure how it could be done without? It has been 5-6 years since I used though so a lot could have changed.
     
  4. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Audio 10 doesn't require multicore cables
     
  5. rythmatix

    rythmatix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Wellington, NZ
    it will be the connections between the headshell pins and the pins in the socket on the end of the tonearm. DO NOT LICK THEM TO GET THEM TO WORK! As soon as one person does that, the corrosion builds up then it becomes a catch-22 (have to lick them to make them work, which in turn makes them worse so have to lick them...). Best thing to do is buy some iso from a pharmacy, and give the little pins a lick with iso on a cotton bud. cleans shit right off, and you will be away laughing
     
    hyperd4eva likes this.
  6. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    yeah cos you're guna rock up to a club and do that before you play...? good one :teeth:
     
  7. rythmatix

    rythmatix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,903
    Likes Received:
    464
    Location:
    Wellington, NZ
    haha, well if you don't want issues when you play then maybe. takes all of 30sec when setting up your controller (or whatever), fully worth the time IMO
     
  8. Gloxxy

    Gloxxy I SNORT COAL

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,166
    Likes Received:
    952
    Location:
    TUT' MINES
    There is no way around this!

    I played at a festival with the Scratch Perverts last weekend and they wanted to used traktor. One of the decks was saying right channel missing in the traktor console and it turned out that the right phono of that was fucked! They had to get another deck form another stage to get it all up and running.
    If the equipment is shagged you've got no hope at all.
     
  9. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Still blaffes me how tech guys don't have a facking clue about ANYTHING! Like, who puts on a night with a broken deck, jesus!
     
  10. danwell

    danwell BAAAAAAAAAAAAABE WAIT

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,630
    Likes Received:
    711
    But that's the thing.. I've played out without multicore cables and the phono cables wouldn't even stay plugged into the traktor box. So I bought the multicore cables and the connectors are better and I haven't had any problems since I've had them
     
  11. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Yeah but if the phono from the actual turntable is knackered then your facked no matter what cables you have

    - - - Updated - - -

    as you can all see im very passionate about this as it almost made me quit DJin the amount shit traktor gave me
     
  12. Binary_UK

    Binary_UK Binary.

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,269
    Likes Received:
    319
    Location:
    Bristol
    Yea this is a phono issue, mine used to do it at home until I replaced them on my 1210s.

    As much as I love Traktor with timecode, I don't trust it enough to play out, will stick with cdjs and the odd bit of wax until the system is foolproof.

    Do multicore cables make any difference?
     
  13. iamdjsimm

    iamdjsimm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    Ah I was on the Audio 8 that came with standard multi core. Mostly I used with CDJ's so had minimal problems.

    Maybe the birth of the pioneer deck will fix some issues?
     
  14. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    All about usb straight into the deck from the laptop, only one cable to fail then.
     
  15. iamdjsimm

    iamdjsimm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    I use an s4 now so I have cable from controller to mac and controller to mixer channel. Works a bloody treat!
     
  16. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Aight Zomboy :teeth: Fair play tho, i wouldnt be seen dead carrying one of those to a show tho
     
  17. iamdjsimm

    iamdjsimm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    Why?
     
  18. RUSSLA

    RUSSLA DNBF Monarch

    Joined:
    May 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,260
    Likes Received:
    885
    Location:
    BH1
    Just my personal preference. Plus CDs and headphones is nice and compact, whip out some CDs and play. Dunno I ever stopped doing that lol
     
  19. EuroTide

    EuroTide Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    284
    i dont know how many times i had to restart recording mixes because of that issue. so frustrating and probably one of the reasons i dont even want to play out any more
     
  20. iamdjsimm

    iamdjsimm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,547
    Likes Received:
    656
    To be fair I've turned up for some 60 minute sets with 2 cd's and a pair of headphones in the past. From my days of carrying 2 pro 80 records boxes the s4 is a treat. I've got a novation midi keyboard bag that fits everything in perfectly so it's just like carrying a backpack with a laptop and a few bits in.

    The flexibility of having a 24 year library of music with me is what I love the most. I can drop into 96, 93, 2000's or whatever I want.