Traktor Scratch Pro

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by deadaelus, May 12, 2009.

  1. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    So i am finally turning to the dark side...

    I purchased Traktor Scratch Pro today, and will be buying a laptop soon. This is an effort to alleviate the stress on my wallet, however i will still purchase some vinyl (mostly just the LP's, ones with sick art, or limited pressings). In essence i will still be a Vinyl collector, but it will be much easier to play out of town shows, and not have to worry about my records getting stolen (laptops & traktor boxes are easy to find and replace).

    Anyone else using Traktor Scratch Pro at all? I will come back here in a week or two and let you all know how it works out.

    Regards,

    D
     
  2. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    Besides i am gonna need a way to unleash that Dexcell LP on people here.
     
  3. robhicks1

    robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Southampton
    I have used Traktor scratch for a long time and have been very impressed.
    My mate is using Tractor scratch pro and it is even better.
    Make sure you get a sick and I mean sick!!! laptop though as it is processor heavy and you will need it to run it on a professional level.
     
  4. Kevdino

    Kevdino Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    I own traktor scratch, dont use it too too much (if anything, just to muck around with genres I dont find 'vinyl worthy' or at least yet.) its good, fun to use. Id def make sure you got some good ram in your laptop.
     
  5. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    Thinkin about bittin the bullet and getting a Macbook Pro dual core 2.66Ghz processor, 4Gb DDR3 Ram, 320gb HD, 512 MB Vid card.

    http://www.apple.com/ca/macbookpro/

    Seems like the best thing on the market for the price point. I also looked at dell Studio XPS with similar stats...but its a dell.

    http://www1.ca.dell.com/content/pro...aptop-studio-xps-16?c=ca&l=en&s=dhs&cs=cadhs1

    Ideally i would like a Rain Recordings or a Music XPC, but for 3000-4000 it hardly seems worth it at this point in my music career (maybe if i was getting paid $1K a show it would be more viable)

    Here are the sites if anyone has money to burn...

    http://rainrecording.co.uk/products/livebook/

    http://www.musicxpc.com/m7.asp
     
  6. aladdin sane

    aladdin sane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    right behind you
    i just bought traktor scratch duo (two deck scaled down version of pro) and am waiting for it to be delivered. Cannot wait. Im about halfway through ripping my record collection then ill just buy the odd tune that isn't available digitally (y)
     
  7. robhicks1

    robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Southampton
    Get the Macbook mate. That is the exact one im in the process of saving for. If only...
     
  8. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    Yea dude i am scouring ebay for a cheap local Macbook Pro w/ warranty.

    Kinda scarce.
     
  9. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    AHA

    My macbook will be delivered tommorrow!

    I will be bringing my software CD's to install all my programs while i am at work!
     
  10. detonate-dj

    detonate-dj sexdrugs&rockinthedole

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northallerton
    i was thinking about getting this a while back, i was prepared to sell all my vinyl to get it, but....for some reason i never got round to it
     
  11. Dj Shitme

    Dj Shitme My Dj Name is Shit

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    City of Bradford, United Kingdom
    Whats the verdict then?

    I'm on CDJ's at moment. Pioneer 400 and 800 and been looking to get back into vinyl as i've found i can mix alot better on it.

    I got a top of the range sony vaio laptop so wouldnt be bothered about that. Just wondering what time coded vinyl to buy?
     
  12. muzzadj

    muzzadj POW!

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,247
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    Hurstpierpoint- Near Brighton
    Theres been plenty of threads on pc's/laptops man.. use the search if you wanna check em out
     
  13. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    HOLY CRAP, i am really loving the TS Pro. Runs really smooth, not glitchy. Folder options and track organization are real simple and easy to use. Haven't got into programing loops & cue points too much yet, but the effects bank is cool (especially if you don't have effects built in to your mixer) You can record your live sets through TS Pro without having to use any other recording software.

    Got a simple MIDI program set up on my Akai MPD24 to control the chained effects on each channel. I will set up another patch to play around with loops & cues.

    The response i got when i played my set last weekend was massive. And i have only just begun to scratch the surface of the program.

    I highly recommend this program, i enjoy it much more than serato (which i have used plenty)

    Only thing i can say that is a bit dissapointing is that you have to install Native Instruments Service Center on your computer (and if you are running a cracked version of massive, it will try to register it, and hence change it to demo mode)
     
  14. aladdin sane

    aladdin sane Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    right behind you
    yeah man i recently bought it and love it! ive hardly exlpored the effects and extras, pretty much just use it as a regular set up. Definitely want to get some sort of midi action for the effects though, the less laptop fiddling the better imo

    Mines a bit glitchy at the mo because my laptops a relic! it literally just runs it but im uprgrading soonish so should be sweet as fuck,

    the first time i used it at a mates house party though id only had it about 2 days, halfway through the set i took the record off the deck, carefully put it away and was looking round for my box! hahaha felt a bit of a dick! loads of people noticed as well
    :rinsed:
     
  15. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    I have done that plenty!

    I have been rolling the idea of getting one of those mixing consoles like the numark omni so i can bang tunes on road trips, would be killer fun.
     
  16. robhicks1

    robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Southampton
    HaHa when I first got TS I kept flipping the records over lol.
     
  17. Ellrot

    Ellrot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    portsmouth
    I've been weighing up Serato and Traktor over the last couple of days and getting ready to committing to one of them. From what you've said I think I'm gonna go with Traktor . The Effect options look amazing and the 4 deck option sounds like my kinda fun.

    I've got a Korg PadKontrol for a Midi controller already, was your midi controller easy to setup and asign the buttons??
     
  18. deadaelus

    deadaelus Laughter in the Slaughter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2003
    Messages:
    1,818
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Calgary, AB Canada
    Definately man! It does everything serato does and more for the same price point. The only bad thing i can say about it is that if you have a cracked version of any of the NI software (like massive) it will switch it to demo mode. But i just bought the Komplete Pack so i fixed that problem, and its better to have authentic software anyway especially if you wanna publish music at some point.

    Glad you liked the review / advice. Hope you enjoy TSP as much as myself!
     
  19. Ellrot

    Ellrot Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    portsmouth
    Hey guys can you help me out a bit, I just got TSP, and I've just set it up, but I'm having trouble with the audio in the head phones, I have a Vestax VMC 002xl Mixer, the one with the fader for the headphones aswell, I'm getting shit loads of high pitched whine from the right hand deck and can't seem to get rid of it.

    I have the left hand decks earth cable connected to the ADUIO 8DJ and the left hand to the mixer, I tried putting both to the ADUIO 8DJ but that only seemed to work for about 10 seconds.. any suggestions??
     
  20. robhicks1

    robhicks1 Nuts about Zoo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    2,530
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Southampton
    Is the high pitched whine the same sound as the time code on the records?
    If it is then you probably need to switch the channel from phono to line.
    If not it sounds like feedback or possibly something is broken.