Traktor Beatgridding Issues...

Discussion in 'DJ's, MC's & Turntablism' started by JSDNB, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. JSDNB

    JSDNB Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2011
    Messages:
    371
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    North Italy
    I'm using a demo version to experience what's like mixing with it but I can't solve my beatgridding issues...

    I'm just trying to set things up for two tracks (Break ft. Die - Slow Down /// Loadstar - Link To The Past) with I know have same bpm (174) but I can't do it. Metronome goes always offtime.

    Any dumb-proof tutorial on this, please?
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2011
  2. osmosis

    osmosis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol
    easiest way of doing it is to go to where your beat stuff is kept (under the deck in 'grid' section) and then click the 'tap' button. click it 4 times in time with the music, from that basic count it calculates the real bpm and is almost always right.

    Safe
     
  3. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    London
    ignore the counters, metronome and visual feedback, just use your ears and adjust the pitch it as it needs
     
  4. Teddy

    Teddy 60% Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2008
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    1,795
    Location:
    STN
    word!
    dont become this guy


    dj 5 dolla holla
     
  5. osmosis

    osmosis Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bristol
    Bit pointless telling him that. hes using the demo traktor probably with just his laptop, obviously he knows nothing about DJing so spare him the crap about 'real DJing'. Djs including me are always bastards about shit like this. (I do beat match btw :teeth: )
     
  6. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    London
    its more to do with the fact that computers are shit beatmatchers, but our ears n brains are awsome at it
     
  7. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    Nah man, beatmatching is very formulaic. You repeat the same processes over and over again to match beats. If given the right information computers are very good at beatmatching. If you want to rely on it, you have to be very diligent with the beatgrid setup process, every tunes needs a perfect grid.
    Its true to say Traktor is pretty shit at detecting bpm's and gridding dnb, but once corrected with the human touch, is very accurate.

    That being said, its 100x more rewarding when you beat match manually, without aids.
     
  8. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    London
    computer doesnt do any beatmatching, it just plays the track at the speed and timecode you tell it to, wether you do it on the fly (pitch-control) or in advance (prepitch/warp)

    you can tell the computer to attempt to figure out the speed to play the track at (ie pre-pitch/auto-warp) but I have yet to see a single program that can do it properly
     
  9. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    I guess youve never used traktors sync feature then? It doesnt require pre-warping but it does require beatgridding. It matches the cued tracks bpm to the master tracks bpm, exactly how you'd do it with the pitch control but with the press of a button. The speed of the timecode via the pitch fader and the speed of the track are not hardwired together, the link can be adjusted/broken at will.

    As ive stated before, if you perfectly grid your tracks, they will sync perfectly.
     
  10. miszt

    miszt BASSFACE Royale

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,946
    Likes Received:
    359
    Location:
    London
    beatgrid = warp
     
  11. Howitzer

    Howitzer Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Derby, UK
    Nope, you dont change the tempo of the song when you beatgrid. Warping changes the original song.
     
  12. kieran t

    kieran t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    MANCHESTER
    drop it in on the beat that you would normaly when djin n then hit sync

    its as easy as that