total reason beginner question

Discussion in 'Production' started by EvezDroppin, Apr 27, 2009.

  1. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    right theres bound to be a simple answer for this but in reason at the mo im tryin to create some nice soundin drums, im usin the redrum drummin machine and have some nice drums comin though except the only problem is is when i copy the pattern into the track they lack the same impact and depth.
    any help much appreciated!!!!!
    also, can anyone point in the direction of a good midi keyboard?
    thanks
     
  2. Dj Dirty Pimp

    Dj Dirty Pimp Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,043
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Kent
    erm i dont use reason. so i dunno how it works, but check the output is good quality, and mayby the channel volume is lower? check these things. i have no idea tho as i have never used it haha im a fruity loops man.

    and whats ur price range? for cheap but good quality midi key boards check out the brand m-audio.
     
  3. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    cheers man, yeh ill check over it tonight... its so addictive
    im willing to spend up to £80, wanna get a decent one if poss !
     
  4. logikz

    logikz I Am Not The King Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2002
    Messages:
    10,556
    Likes Received:
    2,520
    Location:
    www.easternpromiseaudio.com
    too general question but distortion is the key
     
  5. co0ke

    co0ke windowlicker

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,058
    Likes Received:
    5
    i think this mite be the problem.

    when u copy the pattern to track and play, u need to make sure that 'enable pattern selection' and the one next to it above the 'run' button on the redrum is NOT checked.

    if it is checked, it means you are playing one drum pattern thru the redrum interface, and one through the piano roll on the sequencer, this usually results in the drums sounding nasty

    let me kno if that helps
     
  6. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
  7. MARKLAR

    MARKLAR International Tracksuit Salesman

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    15,034
    Likes Received:
    650
    yea turn off the redrum enable pattern section otherwise they phase
     
  8. Zeal

    Zeal Ohm/C2D/Dark Asylum/Ennex

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,849
    Likes Received:
    20
    Dont use a redrum, that would be the best start

    you will want totaly control over each seperate element

    just lay each kick snare etc sample in a NN19 dude, make ur life easier
     
  9. Ketz

    Ketz Thinkin outside the box..

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2008
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Essex, UK
    this, as u have more control over each sound, u are better of eq'in (and other processing like compression and fx) each sound individually much easier to wire ur instruments up in reason like this

    NNXT is also an option ;)
     
  10. justin_credible

    justin_credible Lurker

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    cambridge
  11. KEMZ

    KEMZ Blatant Royal Status

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    you can have control over each part if you flip it round with the TAB button and route every track from the redrum into a track on the mixer - sorted.
     
  12. EvezDroppin

    EvezDroppin how to change name,......

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    35
    Location:
    Middlesborough
    think ill do a seperate track for each drum thro an nnxt or summin.
    cheers for the help!
     
  13. Indefatigable

    Indefatigable Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rooting Tooting SW, UK
    This is what I was going to suggest.

    What I first did is wire each channel on Redrum to it's own combinator unit made up of eg, reverb, distorion, phaser etc, then side chain compress each channel (so you will need to mixers at the top) and save this as a Drum Patten Template.

    The make all my drum patterns in there and export them as samples in to Recycle and then run that sample in the song window through Dr Rex. Doing the same for any fills or whatever.

    Then I use NNXT/NN19 for anything that is less than a bar long.

    I find it easier seqencing/arranging this way.

    -------------------------------------

    I find it useful to set up all my different parts like this, so you don't have to spend ages wiring things up all the time.